Women in Science
Moderated by  Laura Hoopes
Posted on: August 25, 2011
  |  
Posted By: Laura Hoopes

Scientific Barbies from Guest Kate Sleeth

Aa Aa Aa
Dear Friends of Women in Science,
Here is Kate Sleeth's third guest posting. I hope you've enjoyed her perspectives as an articulate young postdoctoral fellow! Best, Laura
Today I am going to talk about a seemingly mythical creature who, I am sad to say, does exist: Scientific Barbie! I have been working in a scientific environment for 13 years and I am happy to say that I have only encountered a few of these women.
However, they do unfortunately exist. As a female I say that they are an embarrassment. They need to appreciate that while acting in a coquettish fashion may get you so far in your career, it is actually damaging to other women. I will give two different examples of potential Scientific Barbies I have encountered and my perceptions of them.