Women in Science
Moderated by  Laura Hoopes
Posted on: January 19, 2011
  |  
Posted By: Laura Hoopes

MentorNet Recognizes Woman Engineer Alumna Katherine Kuchenbecker

Aa Aa Aa

Dear Friends of Women in Science,

I have had some great experiences being a mentor for MentorNet. Right now, my life is too complex between various obligations so I cannot participate, but I highly recommend it to other senior women in STEM fields. It's a great way to enter into the joys and fears of the coming generation of scientists. You can specify fields, gender, etc for your mentee when you sign up.

While I am on hiatus from mentoring right now, I'm still on the mailing list, and recently they highlighted an alumna, Professor Katherine Kuchenbecker. You can see this feature by clicking here. Kuchenbecker is an Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics at the University of Pennsylvania, and a former MentorNet protégé. She has been named one of Popular Science's "Brilliant 10" for 2010, people whose accomplishments make them the most promising scientists in the US. She is the faculty advisor for the Society of Women Engineers at University of Pennsylvania, and she won the Penn Engineering Ford Motor Company Award for faculty advising in May, 2010. The MentorNet article quoted Kuchenbecker as follows,"Just because you're a little different doesn't mean you can't succeed. It's fun to help broaden the imagination of what people think about engineers, what engineers do. They work in teams and solve problems." She says that she has only rarely encountered any sexist beliefs in her field.