Women in Science
Moderated by  Laura Hoopes
Posted on: July 30, 2012
  |  
Posted By: Laura Hoopes

Do You Know About Mildred Dresselhaus?

Aa Aa Aa

Dear friends of women in science,

Not long ago, Sonia Pressman Fuentes sent me a link to an article about Mildred Spiewak Dresselhaus, the "Queen of Carbon." My lame excuse for being ignorant about her achievements is that I'm a biologist, but I think really everyone should know about her. An article about her appeared in The New York Times on July 3, 2012.

She is a professor of physics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, already a rara avis of sorts. But then, it's what her work is about. She works on carbon fibers. Do you know how much of today's world depends on carbon fibers? A lot of the marvelous ways we use them today depend on her basic research. Dresselhaus was among the first to find ways to study single layers of carbon atoms. She learned how to capture the heat energy of vibration of particles at boundaries and to use that heat to generate electric current. Some of the fibers she and her group produced are stronger than steele but weigh only a tiny fraction of the weight of steel. Nanotechnology, the darling of today's industrial innovation, depends heavily on insights from her group.

In 2012, she was recognized with the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience, a $1 million dollar award. She has also received the National Medal of Science, the Enrico Fermi Award, and many other awards. She was in the Department of Energy under President Bill Clinton.