Nat. Neurosci. 19, 1743–1749 (2016); published online 31 October 2016; corrected after print 29 November 2016

In the version of this article initially published, authors Joshua S. Grimley, Anne-Rachel Krostag and Ajamete Kaykas were missing. These authors have been inserted into the author list after Jianhua Chu; they are at the Allen Institute for Brain Science, Seattle, Washington, USA, and performed experiments related to hESCs. The error has been corrected in the HTML and PDF versions of the article.