University of Malaya

    Article metrics


    THE University of Malaya, created by local legislation enacted in March and April, is the youngest university in the British Commonwealth. Its basis is the fusion of the King Edward VII College of Medicine (1905) and Raffles College (1928), in accordance with the recommendations of the Commission on University Education which, under Sir Alexander Carr-Saunders, visited Malaya in 1947. For some years the University will use the buildings and grounds in Singapore of the two constituent colleges, but hopes soon to begin to erect completely new accommodation on an as yet undeveloped site on the mainland. His Majesty's Government has promised £1,000,000 towards the building fund. The chancellor, Mr. Malcolm Macdonald, has launched an appeal for contributions to an endowment fund. The first vice-chancellor is Dr. G. V. Allen, formerly principal of the College of Medicine. The Faculties of Arts (including social studies), Science and Medicine (including dentistry) will continue the teaching work of the two colleges and will shortly be developed to include departments of Chinese, Malay and Tamil studies. Among the research activities connected with the University are an Ionospheric Research Station, staffed and financed by the United Kingdom National Physical Laboratory, and a Tropical Research Unit, investigating the physiological and psychological effects of a tropical climate, staffed and financed by the Medical Department of the Royal Navy and the Medical Research Council.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    University of Malaya. Nature 163, 757 (1949) doi:10.1038/163757c0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.