News | Published:

Harrison Memorial Prize for 1944

    Naturevolume 155page72 (1945) | Download Citation



    THE Selection Committee, consisting of the presidents of the Chemical Society, the Royal Institute of Chemistry, the Society of Chemical Industry and the Pharmaceutical Society, has awarded the Harrison Memorial Prize for 1944 to Dr. Leslie F. Wiggins, of the University of Birmingham, in recognition of his researches on transformation products of the hexose sugars. His originality and resource, combined with exceptional experimental skill in these investigations, have opened new fields of theoretical interest. Much of this work holds promise of practical development along novel lines.

    About this article

    Publication history

    Issue Date



    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing