News | Published:

A College of Aeronautics

Nature volume 154, pages 621623 (18 November 1944) | Download Citation



AN Interdepartmental Committee on the Establishment of a School of Aeronautical Science was set up in October 1943, under the chairmanship of Sir A. H. Roy Fedden, who had just returned from a mission to the United States, where he had studied, among other matters, the system of aeronautical education in that country. The members of the committee dealing with the scheme were Sir A. H. Roy Fedden (chairman); Sir Alan Barlow, Treasury; Commdr. M. S. Slattery, Admiralty; Mr. W. P. Hildred, Air Ministry; Air Marshal Sir Ralph Sorley, Ministry of Aircraft Production; Sir John Stephenson, Dominions Office; Dr. W. Abbott, Ministry of Education; Sir Charles Darwin, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Sir B. Melvill Jones, Aeronautical Research Committee; and Sir Walter Moberly, University Grants Committee. Detailed memoranda and oral evidence were given by representatives of the various interests concerned, a list of which is added to the report*.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing