News | Published:

New Year Honours

Nature volume 139, pages 225226 (06 February 1937) | Download Citation



THE following names of scientific workers and others associated with scientific work appear in the list of New Year honours conferred by the King, which was published on February 1. Baron: Sir Harry McGowan, chairman of Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd. Order of Merit: The Right Hon. H. A. L. Fisher, warden of New College, Oxford, in recognition of his eminent position as an historian and of his services to literature. K.G.B.: Mr. H. T. Tizard, rector of the Imperial College of Science and Technology. Baronet: Mr. P. Malcolm Stewart, late Commissioner for the Special Areas (England and Wales). K.C.M.O.: Mr. F. A. Stockdale, agricultural adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies. DJB.E.: Lady (Juliet Evangeline) Williams, honorary treasurer, Queen Charlotte's Anaesthetic Fund, and honorary secretary of the Joint Council of Midwifery. Bachelor: Dr. J. A. Arkwright, member of the Agricultural Research Council; Prof. J. C. G. Ledingham, director of the Lister Institute, London, professor of bacteriology, University of London; Lieut.-Colonel A. G. Lee, Engineer-in-chief, Post Office Engineering Department, General Post Office; Dr. E. K. Le Fleming, chairman of the Council of the British Medical Association, a member of the General Council of Medical Education and Registration of the United Kingdom; Mr. C. G. Trevor, Indian Forest Service, Inspect or -General of Forests, and president of the Forest Research Institute and College, Dehra Dun.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing