Honorary Members of the Royal Society of Edinburgh


    ON July 2, the following were elected honorary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh to commemorate the completion of its 150th year: Foreign, Bjorn Helland-Hansen, Geophysical Institute, Bergen; Prof. Bernardo Houssay, professor of physiology, National University of Buenos Aires; Prof. Frank R. Lillie, professor of zoology and embryology, University of Chicago; Prof. T. H. Morgan, professor of biology, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena; Prof. Paul Sabatier, professor of chemistry, University of Toulouse; Dr. Theobald Smith, formerly director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, Princeton, New Jersey. British, Prof. H. E. Armstrong, emeritus professor of chemistry, Imperial College of Science and Technology, City and Guilds (Engineering) College, London; Prof. J. S. Haldane, director of the Mining Research Laboratory, and honorary professor, University of Birmingham; Prof. Karl Pearson, emeritus Galton professor of eugenics, University of London; Prof. E. B. Poulton, lately Hope professor of zoology, University of Oxford; Sir G. Elliot Smith, professor of anatomy, University College, London; Prof. W. W. Watts, emeritus professor of geology, Imperial College of Science and Technology, London.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Honorary Members of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Nature 134, 16 (1934). https://doi.org/10.1038/134016c0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.