News | Published:

Awards of the Royal Geographical Society

Nature volume 131, page 543 (15 April 1933) | Download Citation



His majesty the king has approved the award of the Royal medals of the Royal Geographical Society as follows: Founder's medal, to Mr. J. M. Wordie, for the work he has done in polar exploration from the voyage of the Endurance in the Weddell Sea in 1914–17 to the present day; Patron's medal, to Prof. Erich von Drygalski, for his researches in glaciology both in the arctic and the antarctic regions. The Council has awarded the Murchison grant to Dr. Noel Humphreys, for his expeditions in Ruwenzori; the Back grant to Miss Freya Stark, for her journeys in Luristan; the Cuthbert Peek grant to Dr. L. S. B. Leakey, for his studies on climatic changes in East Africa; and the Gill memorial to Khan Sahib Afraz Gul Khan, of the Survey of India, for his frontier and trans-frontier explorations and surveys.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing