University and Educational Intelligence


    CAMBRIDGE.—In connection with the visit of the Royal Agricultural Society to Cambridge next month, the University will bestow honorary degrees on a number of the high officers of the Society and others who have distinguished themselves in promoting agricultural science. The Duke of Devonshire, Chancellor of the University, is President of the Society, and will probably himself confer the degrees. The list of names submitted to the Senate includes H.R.H. the Duke of York, the Duke of Richmond and Gordon, Lord Cathcart, Sir John Thorold, Sir Dighton Probyn, Sir Nigel Kingscote, Sir John B. Lawes, Sir Joseph H. Gilbert, Mr. A. Peckover, the Lord Lieutenant of Cambridgeshire, and Mr. Albert Pell. The Master and Fellows of Trinity College have issued invitations to a banquet in the College Hall for June 26, at which the Prince of Wales, the Chancellor, and the recipients of honorary degrees, will be entertained.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.