THE next meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will be held in Philadelpnia, probably during the first week in September, 1884. At the session in Minneapolis the following persons were chosen as officers for the Philadelphia meeting:—President, Dr.J. P. Leslie, of Philadelphia; Vice-Presidents: Section A (Mathematics and Astronomy), Prof. H. T. Eddy, of Cincinnati; B (Physics), Prof. John Trowbridge, of Cambridge; C (Chemistry), Prof. J. W. Langley, of Ann Arbour; D (Mechanical Science), Prof. R. H. Thurston, of Hoboken; E (Geology and Geography), Prof. N. H. Winchell, of Minneapolis; F (Biology), Prof. E. D. Cope, of Philadelphia; G (Histology and Microscopy), Prof. T. G. Wormley, of Philadelphia; H (Anthropology), Prof. E. S. Morse, of Salem; I (Economic Science and Statistics), Hon. John Eaton, of Washington; permanent secretary, Mr. F. W. Putnam, of Cambridge; general secretary, Dr. Alfred Springer, of Cincinnati; assistant general secretary, Prof. E. S. Holden, of Madison.

    Access options

    Rent or Buy article

    Get time limited or full article access on ReadCube.


    All prices are NET prices.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Notes . Nature 28, 444–446 (1883).

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.