General editorial enquiries and correspondence should be addressed to

Enquiries about submission, the quality check process and publication agreements should be addressed to

For production enquiries contact


Manuscripts should be submitted through our online submission system. For more information, see our general guide for manuscript preparation and submission in the Publish section of the site. Receipt of submitted manuscripts will be acknowledged by e-mail. Please do not send complete manuscripts by e-mail.

Reviews of manuscripts

Please return referee comments to the URL included in the referee instruction letter sent to you after you agreed to review the manuscript.

Editorial office
The Macmillan Building
4 Crinan Street
N1 9XW

Tel: +44 20 7843 4758

Head of Scientific Reports: Anna Treadway
Executive Editor: Suzanne Farley, PhD
Chief Editor: Richard White, PhD
Deputy Editor: Anita Marinelli, PhD
Deputy Editor: Rafal Marszalek, PhD
Associate Editor: Mark Daly, PhD
Associate Editor: Ashleigh Johnston, PhD
Head of Researcher Experience: Katherine Arundell
Editorial Operations Manager: Elliot Brooks
Editorial Operations Manager: Esheeta Mangalpara
Team Leader: Felicity Allen
Team Leader: John Bell
Team Leader: William Coleman
Team Leader: Bastien Conan
Team Leader: Susan Emerson
Team Leader: Asher Ezekiel
Team Leader: Imogen Kirby
Team Leader: Abbie Noakes
Team Leader: Jonathan Potton
Team Leader: Thomas Smith
Team Leader: Sarah Wells
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Megan Garry-Evans
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Laura Gritt
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Lizzy Kew
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Josh Simcock
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Hannah Waterhouse
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Ben Miller
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Lottie Curnow
Manuscript Assistant: Yemi Adisa
Manuscript Assistant: Charlotte Coldwell
Manuscript Assistant: Chloe Davis
Manuscript Assistant: Elliot Dryer-Beers
Manuscript Assistant: Carla Greco
Manuscript Assistant: Deborah Kendall
Manuscript Assistant: Parisha Ladwa
Manuscript Assistant: Stephanie Mathias
Manuscript Assistant: Lewis Nebel
Manuscript Assistant: Chris Newth-West
Manuscript Assistant: Mabel Sydney
Manuscript Assistant: Audra Taylor
Manuscript Assistant: Felicity Tournant
Manuscript Assistant: Ella Hierlehy
Manuscript Assistant: Chloe Sansome
Senior Publishing Assistant: Chris Ackroyd
Senior Publishing Assistant: Laurie Cheeseman
Senior Publishing Assistant: Liam Dickson
Senior Publishing Assistant: Andrea Monica
Senior Publishing Assistant: Robbie Roe
Publishing Assistant: Luke Barrett
Publishing Assistant: Edward Barton
Publishing Assistant: Oliver Busby
Publishing Assistant: James Cain
Publishing Assistant: Catherine Collins
Publishing Assistant: Cheryl Fernandes
Publishing Assistant: Rowena Gordon
Publishing Assistant: Sarah Houben
Publishing Assistant: Linsey King
Publishing Assistant: Zara Manwaring
Publishing Assistant: Rachel Newland
Publishing Assistant: Daniel Parkes
Publishing Assistant: Roshan Patel
Publishing Assistant: Ayesha Pindoria
Publishing Assistant: Jamie Prowse
Publishing Assistant: Scott Rae
Publishing Assistant: William Spenceley Jones
Publishing Assistant: Hannah Stafford
Publishing Assistant: Patrick Wakelam
Publishing Assistant: Deraj Wilson-Aggarwal
Production Editor: Max Gross
Production Editor: Jessica Hart
Production Editor: Beth Webster
Assistant Production Editor: Sienna Brown
Assistant Production Editor: Zoe Hoskins
Assistant Production Editor: Annika Jesse
Assistant Production Editor: Jennifer McCahill
Assistant Production Editor: Stephanie McConkey
Assistant Production Editor: Victoria Pike
Assistant Production Editor: Rhiannon Smith
Assistant Production Editor: Rebecca Windless
Marketing Manager: Mathias Astell
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Publications: Philip Campbell, PhD
Publishing Director: Nandita Quaderi, PhD

Customer service:


Advertising & sponsorship:

Press office:

Offices worldwide: