General editorial enquiries and correspondence should be addressed to

Enquiries about submission, the quality check process and publication agreements should be addressed to

For production enquiries contact


Manuscripts should be submitted through our online submission system. For more information, see our general guide for manuscript preparation and submission in the Publish section of the site. Receipt of submitted manuscripts will be acknowledged by e-mail. Please do not send complete manuscripts by e-mail.

Reviews of manuscripts

Please return referee comments to the URL included in the referee instruction letter sent to you after you agreed to review the manuscript.

Editorial office
The Macmillan Building
4 Crinan Street
N1 9XW

Tel: +44 20 7843 4758

Head of Scientific Reports: Anna Treadway
Executive Editor: Suzanne Farley, PhD
Managing Editor: Richard White, PhD
Deputy Managing Editor: Rafal Marszalek, PhD
Associate Editor: Christine Mieck, PhD
Publishing Development Manager: Katherine Arundell
Editorial Operations Manager: Elliot Brooks
Editorial Operations Manager: Esheeta Mangalpara
Team Leader: John Bell
Team Leader: Bastien Conan
Team Leader: Susan Emerson
Team Leader: Asher Ezekiel
Team Leader: Vicky Hellon
Team Leader: Rebecca Nellis
Team Leader: Abbie Noakes
Team Leader: June Rockefeller
Team Leader: Jenni Weller
Team Leader: Nadine Wood
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Felicity Allen
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Will Coleman
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Millie De Salis
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Betsy Fitzgerald
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Lizzy Kew
Senior Manuscript Assistant: Jenny King
Manuscript Assistant: Yemi Adisa
Manuscript Assistant: Jacob Bairstow
Manuscript Assistant: Lottie Curnow
Manuscript Assistant: Chloe Davis
Manuscript Assistant: Ruth Davis
Manuscript Assistant: Charlotte Freeman-Hall
Manuscript Assistant: Megan Garry-Evans
Manuscript Assistant: Laura Gritt
Manuscript Assistant: Gywain Jones
Manuscript Assistant: Deborah Kendall
Manuscript Assistant: Hannah Kunicki
Manuscript Assistant: Parisha Ladwa
Manuscript Assistant: Lara Lopez
Manuscript Assistant: Ben Miller
Manuscript Assistant: Laura Owen
Manuscript Assistant: Jonathan Potton
Manuscript Assistant: Josh Simcock
Manuscript Assistant: Mabel Sydney
Manuscript Assistant: Audra Taylor
Manuscript Assistant: Felicity Tournant
Manuscript Assistant: Hannah Waterhouse
Manuscript Assistant: Ellie Wood
Senior Publishing Assistant: Imogen Kirby
Publishing Assistant: Chris Ackroyd
Publishing Assistant: Vilma Ahtiainen
Publishing Assistant: Luke Barrett
Publishing Assistant: Vicky Brewis
Publishing Assistant: Rebecca Case
Publishing Assistant: Laurie Cheeseman
Publishing Assistant: Inchul Cho
Publishing Assistant: Sarah Cleveland
Publishing Assistant: Charlotte Cowley
Publishing Assistant: Liam Dickson
Publishing Assistant: Holly Farler
Publishing Assistant: Gil Henkin
Publishing Assistant: Sadie Holmes
Publishing Assistant: Sarah Houben
Publishing Assistant: Eva Kane
Publishing Assistant: Rachel Lesbirel
Publishing Assistant: Zara Manwaring
Publishing Assistant: Calum McGregor
Publishing Assistant: Andrea Monica
Publishing Assistant: Rachel Newland
Publishing Assistant: Michael Owen
Publishing Assistant: Roshan Patel
Publishing Assistant: Sarah Pryor
Publishing Assistant: Robbie Roe
Publishing Assistant: Chris Routledge
Publishing Assistant: Thomas Smith
Publishing Assistant: William Spenceley Jones
Senior Production Editor: Edward Litten
Production Editor: Max Gross
Production Editor: Jessica Hart
Production Editor: Beth Webster
Assistant Production Editor: Liz Anderson
Assistant Production Editor: Sienna Brown
Assistant Production Editor: Frankie Dickens
Assistant Production Editor: Zoe Hoskins
Assistant Production Editor: Annika Jesse
Assistant Production Editor: Jennifer McCahill
Assistant Production Editor: Stephanie McConkey
Assistant Production Editor: Victoria Pike
Assistant Production Editor: Alice Scott
Assistant Production Editor: Rhiannon Smith
Assistant Production Editor: Rebecca Windless
Marketing Manager: Mathias Astell
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Publications: Philip Campbell, PhD
Publishing Director: Nandita Quaderi, PhD

Customer service:


Advertising & sponsorship:

Press office:

Offices worldwide: