Women in Science
Moderated by  Laura Hoopes
Posted on: April 1, 2011
  |  
Posted By: Laura Hoopes

Nancy Hopkins' Keynote Speech Shockers

Aa Aa Aa

Dear friends of women in science,

We had the pleasure of a guest posting recently by Nancy Hopkins about the new report on the status of women at MIT here. Nancy sent the text of her keynote speech to me, and it is clear that the women of MIT have made great progress, although they still need to receive the respect they deserve. The subtitle of Nancy's speech was Congratulations, with Caveats.

For me, though, what will stick in my mind forever will be two anecdotes she used to illustrate some of her points. The first was about sexual harassment that was not recognized as such when it occurred. She said,

" For example, when I was an undergraduate at Harvard, I was sitting at my lab desk one day writing up notes when the door of the lab flew open. There stood a scientist I didn't know but recognized instantly. Before I could rise and shake hands, he had zoomed across the room, stood behind me, put his hands on my breasts and said, "What are you working on?" It was Francis Crick, the co-discoverer of the structure of DNA. Did I feel harassed? Not at all. I was very embarrassed, but for him, not for myself."

That incident shocked me, and Nancy went on to say she didn't realize at the time that his behavior suggested something about how interested he might really be in her research findings. But she also reported on an incident back before the Civil Rights Act of 1964, when Barbara McClintock was a young, highly impressive scientist. Here it is: