Women in Science
Moderated by  Laura Hoopes
Posted on: October 8, 2012
  |  
Posted By: Laura Hoopes

Goodbye to Female Science Professor?

Aa Aa Aa

Dear Friends of Women in Science:

The blog of Female Science Professor was one of those I chose to feature on my very first posting on this forum, for a very good reason. Academic women in physical sciences find her perceptions and insights about life in academia to be both amusing and on-target. Her thoughts are useful and productive of a lot of fellow-feeling. It's great for a woman academic in chemistry, physics, astronomy, engineering, CS, math, etc to feel like she shares experience types with at least one other person, that she is not alone in her perceptions.

FSP has been blogging for six years here and recently, she had this to say. "So, I have been writing this FSP blog for 6 years now and have decided that it should change, and perhaps end, but I am too cowardly to do this in a dramatic, sudden way. Why am I considering departing from the blogosphere, decreasing my presence, or at very least changing my blog-focus or format? I am certainly not bored with blogging (or with you, commenters and even lurkers) and I have not run out of things to say (or cat photos to share), but there comes a point in the life of semi-anonymous bloggers -- or, at least, this one -- when it isn't really right or fair to the people in my immediate vicinity for me to continue this type of blog."