About the Editors


Wei Lu, PhD
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Wei D. Lu is a Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department at the University of Michigan. His research interest includes memory devices such as memristors/resistive-random access memory (RRAM), in-memory computing systems and neuromorphic computing systems, bio-inspired device and circuit designs, and low-dimensional materials and devices. He received B.S. in physics from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China in 1996, and Ph.D. in physics from Rice University, Houston, TX in 2003, followed by a postdoctoral research fellow position at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA from 2003-2005. He joined the faculty of the University of Michigan in 2005. Prof. Lu is an IEEE Fellow and founder of 2 startups commercializing memory devices and efficient computing chips.

Associate Editors

Aida Todri-Sanial, PhD
Eindhoven University of Technology
Eindhoven, The Netherlands  

Aida Todri-Sanial is a Full Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands. She obtained a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Bradley University, IL, an M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Long Beach State University, CA, and a Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She has had several R&D roles, including as an R&D Engineer at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, IL, and visiting research positions at Mentor Graphics, Cadence Design Systems, STMicroelectronics, and IBM TJ Watson Research Center. Dr. Todri-Sanial's research focuses on advancing emerging technologies and novel computing paradigms, particularly in neuromorphic and quantum computing. Additionally, her research endeavors extend to the exploration of other cutting-edge technologies, including advanced materials, integrated circuits, and system-level design methodologies, with a focus on realizing practical applications in diverse fields.    

Stephen Andy Sarles, PhD
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN, USA

Dr. Andy Sarles is an Associate Professor and the James Conklin Faculty Fellow in the Dept. of Mech., Aero. and Biomed. Engr. at the University of Tennessee. His research interests include stimuli-responsive soft materials, transport and signaling in biomimetic membranes and ion channels, and neuromorphic computing and signal processing in biomolecular assemblies. He received a BS in mechanical engineering from University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN in 2004 and MS and PhD degrees in mechanical engineering from Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA in 2006 and 2010. He worked as a postdoctoral research scientist position at Virginia Tech from 2010-2011, before joining the faculty at the University of Tennessee in 2011. He is a Fellow of ASME.


Christof Teuscher, PhD
Portland State University
Portland, OR, USA

Christof Teuscher is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Portland State University (PSU) with joint appointments in the Department of Computer Science and the Systems Science Graduate Program. Dr. Teuscher obtained his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree in computer science from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL) in 2000 and 2004 respectively. His main research focuses on next generation computing architectures and paradigms. For more information visit: http://www.teuscher-lab.com

Xiaobo Zhu, PhD
University of Science and Technology of China
Anhui, China

Xiaobo Zhu, Professor, University of Science and Technology of China. In 2003, he received his PhD from the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and continued to work in the Institute; In 2008, he joined NTT Basic Research Laboratories; In 2013, he returned to China and joined the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences; In 2016, he joined the University of Science and Technology of China . His research focus is quantum computation and simulation with superconducting Josephson junctions. He has made a series of important works on the quantum hybrid system of flux qubit and NV color centers in diamonds. He also set several records for the maximum number of entangled superconducting qubits, developed the prototype of superconducting quantum computer "Zuchongzhi" and achieved quantum computational advantage.


Yuchao Yang, PhD
Peking University
Beijing, China

Yuchao Yang is a Boya Distinguished Professor at School of Integrated Circuits, Peking University. He serves as Deputy Dean for School of Electronic and Computer Engineering, and Director of Center for Brain Inspired Chips. His research interests include memristors, neuromorphic computing, and compute-in-memory chips. He is a recipient of the EXPLORER PRIZE, Qiu Shi Outstanding Young Scholar Award, Wiley Young Researcher Award, MIT Technology Review Innovators Under 35 in China, and Outstanding Achievement Award in Scientific Research (Youth Science Award) of the Ministry of Education. He was recognized as Highly Cited Chinese Researchers by Elsevier in 2020, 2021 and 2022.


Editorial Board Members

Abu Sebastian, PhD, IBM Research - Zurich, Rueschlikon, Switzerland
Duygu Kuzum, PhD, University of California San Diego, CA, USA
Kyusang Lee, PhD, University of Virginia,Charlottesville, VA, USA
Susan Stepney, PhD, Department of Computer Science, University of York,York, UK
Davide Brunelli, PhD, University of Trento, Italy
Federico Corradi, PhD, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, NL
Xiaoming Sun, PhD, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Ilia Valov, PhD, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany and Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
Elena Loana Vatajelu, PhD, CNRS/TIMA Laboratory, France
Jason Eshraghian, PhD, UC Santa Cruz, USA
Melika Payvand, PhD, Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zürich and ETH Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Andy Tyrrell, PhDUniversity of York, York, UK
Yaoyu Tao, PhDPeking University, Beijing, China
Fidel Santamaria, PhD, The University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, TX, USA
Dhireesha Kudithipudi, PhDUniversity of Texas at San Antonio, Texas, USA

Interested in joining the journal team?

If you are interested in joining the journal as an Editorial Board Member or Associate Editor, please complete this Google form. Associate Editors are part of the editorial team that handle manuscripts, while Editorial Board Members are regular reviewers and are consulted for ad hoc advice. We will contact you if your expertise meets the needs of the journal.

Nature Portfolio journals are committed to promoting practices that support diversity, equity and inclusion in science communication and publishing, and we strongly encourage gender, race, ethnic, geographic, career stage and other diversity in our journal teams. Our in-house staff will use your information only for the purposes of identifying new editorial team or board members. Please contact the journal by email if you would like to remove your information from these records.

Please note that we are not able to respond to all applicants.