Princeton Neuroscience Institute

Postdoctoral Research Assistant with BRAIN CoGS

Princeton Neuroscience Institute, United States

Princeton, NJ, United States

The Princeton Neuroscience Institute seeks talented postdoctoral or more senior researchers for an NIH BRAIN Initiative project to start during the 2019/20 academic year. In collaboration with the University of California, Davis, this multi-investigator project involves studying the neural circuit dynamics underlying working memory during “accumulation-of-evidence” tasks in rodents. See our website here: www.braincogs.org.

Our goal is to understand working memory at a brain-wide, integrative level. Brain regions to be investigated include frontal, parietal, and sensory cortices, striatum, hippocampus, and cerebellum, with a view to achieving a whole picture of how these different brain structures work together dynamically to process, store, and transfer information to one another. The project is a collaborative effort between the research groups of David Tank (dwtank@princeton.edu), Carlos Brody (brody@princeton.edu), Mark Goldman (msgoldman@ucdavis.edu), Jonathan Pillow (jpillow@princeton.edu), Sebastian Seung (sseung@princeton.edu), Sam Wang (sswang@princeton.edu), and Ilana Witten (iwitten@princeton.edu). Applicants are welcome to contact one or more of the investigators for more information.

Successful applicants will take a collaborative approach spanning multiple laboratories. They can take advantage of the thriving and growing neuroscience community at Princeton University as well as working (remotely) with the neuroscience community at UC Davis. We are currently seeking candidates with experience in rodent behavior, electrophysiological recordings, computational analysis, brain circuit anatomy, and optogenetic manipulations.

Activities will be supported by state-of-the-art facilities in the new building of the Princeton Neuroscience Institute, including advanced two-photon imaging and electron microscopy systems located in the Bezos Center for Neural Circuit Dynamics, and by the vibrant and rapidly expanding faculty in Computational Neuroscience and related fields at UC Davis supported by the Initiative in Computational Sciences (http://comphip2017.ucdavis.edu/).

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Favorite