University of Southern Denmark (SDU)

PhD Position in Computational Quantum Field Theory - READVERTISEMENT

University of Southern Denmark (SDU)

Odense M, Denmark

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science (IMADA), University of Southern Denmark is opening one PhD position in the Computational Quantum Field theory group of Professor C. Pica.

The position is one of seven PhD positions available in Lattice Field Theory as part of the EuroPLEx network (

The postgraduate fellowships are funded by the European Union H2020 programme through the European network for Particle physics, Lattice field theory and Extreme computing (EuroPLEx), the recently approved Marie Sklodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network (MSCA-ITN). The Europlex network involves leading European Lattice Field Theory groups based at the following institutions: (Denmark) Syddansk University, (Germany) University of Bielefeld, University of Regensburg, Humboldt University Berlin, (Ireland) Trinity College Dublin, (Italy) University of Parma, (Spain) Autonomous University Madrid (UAM), (UK) University of Edinburgh and Swansea University.

The research performed within the network aims to

  • Perform precision tests of the Standard Model.
  • Investigate Beyond the Standard Model candidate theories.
  • Probe the QCD phase diagram.
  • Non-perturbatively study theoretical aspects of Quantum Field Theories.
The research provides a solid training in the analytical skills needed
in quantum field theory and in particle physics phenomenology, as well as in high performance computing and in software development.

Fellowships are available at the following institutions
  • Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics at the University of Edinburgh in the groups of Professor P. Boyle, Dr A. Portelli and Professor L. Del Debbio
  • (two positions).
  • Institute for Physics at the Humboldt University Berlin in the group
  • of Professor V. Forini (one position).
  • CP3-Origins at the University of Southern Denmark in the group of Professor C. Pica (one position).
  • Department of Mathematics at the University of Swansea in the group of Professor G. Aarts and Professor B. Lucini (one position).
  • Department of Theoretical Physics at the Autonomous University of Madrid in the groups of Professor C. Pena, Professor M. Garcia Perez and Professor A. González-Arroyo (two positions).

See the Europlex network website for details of the proposed projects at each institution.

This position is subject to the entry into force of grant agreement no 813942 and funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme.

Candidates are expected to have a very good Master’s degree in Physics or related areas at the time of the commencement of employment. They must be eligible under the H2020 ITN mobility rules, specifically the researcher cannot have resided or carried out his/her main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the country of the recruiting institution for more than 12 months in the three years immediately before the recruitment date (see the H2020 guide for applicants).

Deadline: 20 July 2019.

Please see the full call, including how to apply, on

Please apply via recruiter’s website.