6th Max Planck Freiburg Epigenetics Meeting

Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics

30 November 2022

MPI of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Stuebeweg 51

Registration Deadline

01 September 2022

Since 2010, the Max Planck Freiburg Epigenetics Meeting has established a tradition as one of the key events in chromatin and epigenetic research that provides a highly interactive platform in a very familiar setting. The 6th Epigenetics meeting offers an exciting line-up of 25 invited, and up to 10 short talks that will be selected from the submitted abstracts. We will also have one poster session of around 30-40 poster.

Personal contacts are essential and our in-person format will offer an excellent platform to meet with leaders in the chromatin and epigenetics fields. The conference is committed to connecting (young) scientists and their research topics from the different areas. Panels on…


  • Non-coding DNA
  • Transcription Regulation
  • Chromatin Dynamics
  • Genome Organization
  • Higher Order Structuring
  • Inheritance
  • Cancer & Disease

…cover the latest advances in the field.


Confirmed speakers

  • Roberto Bonasio, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Ibrahim Cissé, MPI of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Germany
  • Anne Ferguson-Smith, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Amanda Fisher, Imperial College London, UK
  • Andreas Houben, Leibniz Institute of Plants Genetics, Gatersleben, Germany
  • Nicola Iovino, MPI of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg Germany
  • Cigall Kadoch, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Jeannie Lee, Massachussetts General Hospital, USA
  • Rob Martienssen, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA
  • Geeta Narlikar, University of California, San Francisco, USA
  • Dónal O’Carroll, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Clodagh O’Shea, The Salk Institute, USA
  • Ana Pombo, Max Delbrueck-Center, Berlin, Germany
  • Andrew Pospisilik, Van Andel Research Institute, USA
  • Nick Proudfoot, University of Oxford, UK
  • Oded Rechavi, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Wolf Reik, The Babraham Institute, UK
  • Danny Reinberg, New York University, USA
  • Bing Ren, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, USA
  • Claire Rougeulle, CNRS Paris, France
  • Dirk Schübeler, Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel, Switzerland
  • Schraga Schwartz, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Ali Shilatifard, Northwestern University, USA
  • Bas van Steensel, Netherlands Cancer Institute, The Netherlands
  • Yang Shi, Harvard Medical School, USA


Organized by Asifa Akhtar and Thomas Jenuwein (MPI-IE)