About the Editors


The Editor-in-Chief of Microsystems & Nanoengineering is Dr. Yirong Wu, an academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, and is currently the director of and a professor at Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IECAS). He received his BSc and MSc from Beijing Institute of Technology in 1985 and 1988 respectively, and his PhD from the IECAS in 2001. Dr. Wu is a leading expert in the area of information science and technology. He has (co)authored over 100 refereed publications and serves as the principal investigator of the national level research and development program in the field of information technology in China. 

Executive Editors-in-Chief

Dr.Tianhong Cui is currently a Distinguished McKnight University Professor at the University of Minnesota. He is a Professor in Mechanical Engineering and an Affiliate Senior Member of the graduate faculty in Department of Electrical Engineering and Department of Biomedical Engineering. He joined the faculty of the University of Minnesota in 2003. From 1995 to 2003, he held research or faculty positions at Tsinghua University, University of Minnesota, National Laboratory of Metrology in Japan, and Louisiana Tech University. He is an Adjunct Professor at Mayo Clinic, a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the University of Cambridge, and a Laureate of Blaise Pascal Chair from the ENS Foundation in France. He is a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME).

His current research interests include MEMS and nanotechnology. He has more than 310 archived publications in scientific journals and prestigious conferences. He received awards including the STA & NEDO Fellowships in Japan, the Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship in Germany, the Research Foundation Award from Louisiana Tech University, the Richard & Barbara Endowed Chair and the Distinguished McKnight University Professorship from the University of Minnesota, the Distinguished Visiting Professorships from University of Paris East and Tsinghua University, the Blaise Pascal Chair for Excellence from ENS Foundation in France, the Distinguished Visiting Fellowship from the Royal Academy of Engineering in UK, the Outstanding Editor Award from Chinese Academy of Sciences/ Nature Publishing Group, and numerous best paper awards. He is the founding Executive Editor-in-Chief for two Nature journals, Light: Science & Applications and Microsystems & Nanoengineering. He is also serving as the founding Editor-in-Chief for the first AAAS/Science Partner Journal titled Research.  

Prof. Ian White is currently Master of Jesus College, van Eck Professor of Engineering, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Head of Photonics Research at the Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge. Ian is originally from Northern Ireland, coming up to Jesus College in 1977 to read Engineering. He gained his BA and PhD degrees from the University of Cambridge in 1980 and 1984. He was then appointed a Research Fellow and Assistant Lecturer at the University of Cambridge before becoming Professor of Physics at the University of Bath in 1990. He moved in 1996 to the University of Bristol, before returning to the University of Cambridge in October 2001. At Cambridge he has also previously held the roles of Head of the School of Technology and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Institutional Affairs.

Ian has contributed to a variety of research activities in photonics, ranging from short pulse laser diodes, optoelectronic components for signal processing and routing, high speed components for data communications, to techniques for transmitting digital and radio frequency signals over long distances of multimode optical fibre. He has published in excess of 900 journal and conference papers, and is co-founder of Zinwave Ltd and Pervasid Ltd.

Ian is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He is heavily involved in policy development and administration of research and sits on a number of International Conference Committees. He was a Member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Photonics Society (2008-2012). 

Find more information about the Editorial board, please Click here.