Final Candidates: 2022 Rising Stars of Light

Release Date: 9th September 2022

We'd like to first thank all of the nominators and applicants for their strong support, which makes it extremely challenging to select the final candidates. After careful selection by the Committee, we'd like to congratulate the 12 final candidates as below (**in alphabetical order**):

Please be noted: 2 applicants had extremely close average grades in each track, and considering the fierce competition, Chairs decided to choose 6 finalists for each track

Faculty & Postdoc Track, honor Gabriel Popescu:

Assistant Professor Wei Bao from University of Nebraska Lincoln

Assistant Professor Lin Chang from Peking University

Postdoc Qiushi Guo from California Institute of Technology

Assistant Professor Deep Jariwala from University of Pennsylvania

Assistant Professor Yating Wan from King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

Full Professor Chao Zuo from Nanjing University of Science and Technology

PhD Candidate Track:

Andrea Cordaro from AMOLF

Jialin Meng from Fudan University

Geyang Qu from Harbin Institute of Technology

Liang Shi from MIT

Danhao Wang from University of Science and Technology of China Hansen Zhong from University of Science and Technology of China

The final candidates will draw lots at iCANX talk on 7th Oct and determine the presentation sequence; details will be emailed by light_lsa@ciomp.ac.cn by late September.

Each final candidate will present a 18 min academic report at the 'iCANX' (14th Oct for PhD Candidate Track and 21st Oct for Faculty & Postdoc Track): the committee will rate candidates on site and issue the below awards on 21st Oct, 2022:

Rising Stars of Light Winners: Faculty & Postdoc Track, honor Gabriel Popescu (3 person), PhD Track (3 person). Each winner will be rewarded with 1500USD (before tax) plus one coupon of waiving publication fee in Light: Science & Applications (valid until 2024)

Rising Stars of Light Candidates: Faculty & Postdoc Track (3 person), PhD Track (3 person). Each winner will be rewarded with one coupon of waiving publication fee in Light: Science & Applications (valid until 2024)

Committee of Faculty & Postdoc Track:

Chair, Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles,

Co-Chair, Andrea Alù, City University of New York

Co-Chair, Lan Yang, Washington University in St. Louis

Co-Chair, Min Qiu, Westlake University

Co-Chair, Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University and Australian Research Council

Committee of PhD Candidate Track:

Chair, Chaoyang Lu, University of Science and Technology of China

Co-Chair, Nicholas Fang, University of Hong Kong

Co-Chair, Martin Booth, University of Oxford

Co-Chair, Na Liu, University of Stuttgart

Co-Chair, Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney