2023 Rising Stars of Light Final Winners

On 20th and 27th Oct, 2023 Rising Stars of Light Final Campaign was live hosted on iCANX talks. After two sessions (replay via https://wx.vzan.com/live/page/1430403176, and https://wx.vzan.com/live/page/172925594), below winners for two tracks



were selected by the committee members of

Faculty track



Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles, Chancellor's Professor



Andrea Alù, City University of New York, CUNY Distinguished Professor



Harry Atwater, California Institute of Technology, Howard Hughes Professor





Washington University in St. Louis, Edwin H. & Florence G. Skinner Professor

Min Qiu, Westlake University, Vice President and Chair Professor of Photonics



Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University, Professor and Australian Research Council Director

and

Before Faculty track:



Professor



Martin Booth, University of Oxford, Professor and Chair of Electrical Engineering



Shuang Zhang, University of Hong Kong,

Nicholas Fang, University of Hong Kong, Professor



Mona Jarrahi, University of California, Los Angeles, Professor



Qihua Xiong, Tsinghua University, Professor



Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney, Professor



Committee members of Before Faculty Track



Committee members of Faculty Track





Winners of 2023 Rising Stars of Light

Rising Stars of Light, initiated by Light: Science & Applications, is a worldwide campaign for the most shining young scientists in optics-related topics. Since 2018, it has been hosted for six years and received worldwide recognition with 0.9 million audiences.

Since 2021, Rising Stars of Light was highlighted as a featured event by UNESCO's International Day of Light.

This year, between 17th April and 15th August, Rising Stars of Light were open to nominated applicants from world's leading young scientists who can only be qualified until they submit their achievements, publications & patents, future research plans and being nominated by a world's leading scientist in optics.

After the nomination, application, and selection by the Committee members, 13 final candidates stood out and each presented a talk on iCANX. After a tough selection, the winners are announced at the beginning of this news and the below rewards go to:

2023 Rising Stars of Light Faculty Track - Winner Awards

Prof. Arka Majumdar from University of Washington

Prof. Junjie Yao from Duke University

Prof. Francisco Robles from Georgia Institute of Technology

2023 Rising Stars of Light Before Faculty Track - Winner Awards

Dr. Luciano Masullo from Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

Dr. Danqing Wang from Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light

Dr. Shiqi Xia from Nankai University

The above winners will each receive 1500USD allowance and a publication fee

waiving coupon in LSA (valid by the end of 2025).

2023 Rising Stars of Light Before Faculty Track - Candidate Awards

Dr. Haoran Ren from Monash University

Dr. Jiangang Feng from National University of Singapore;

Dr. You Zhou from Stanford University

Weiliang Ma from Huazhong University of Science and Technology

2023 Rising Stars of Light Faculty Track - Candidate Awards

Prof. Gili Bisker, Tel Aviv University

Prof. Xing Sheng from Tsinghua University

Prof. Sang-Hoon Bae from University of Washington in St Louis

The above winners will each receive a publication fee waiving coupon in LSA (valid by the end of 2025).

Acknowledgements to the strong support from:

1. 2023 Rising Stars of Light Committee Members

Prof. Aydogan Ozcan from University of California, Los Angeles, Prof. Harry Atwater from California Institute of Technology, Prof. Andrea Alu from City University of New York, Prof. Lan Yang from Washington University in St. Louis, Prof. Min Qiu from Westlake University and Prof. Dragomir Neshev from Australian National University

Prof. Martin Booth from University of Oxford, Prof. Nicholas Fang from The University of Hong Kong, Prof. Mona Jarraghi from University of California, Los Angeles, Prof. Laura Na Liu from University of Stuttgart, Prof. Shuang Zhang from The University of Hong Kong, Prof. Qihua Xiong from Tsinghua University and Prof. Igor Aharonovich from University of Technology Sydney

2. All the nominators and applicants of 2023 Rising Stars of Light

3. Initiators & Hosts:
Prof. Yuhong Bai, Deputy Editor in Chief of Light: Science & Applications
Prof. Alice Zhang, founder of iCANX talks
Prof. Giulia Tagliabue, EPFL, Host
Prof. Yating Wan, KAUST, Host
Dr. Chenzi Guo, director of eLight and editor of Light: Science & Applications, Host
All the staff members of Light: Science & Applications and iCANX