Finalists: 2023 Rising Stars of Light

We'd like to first thank all of the nominators and applicants for their strong support, which makes it extremely challenging to select the finalists. After careful selection by the Committee, we'd like to congratulate the finalists as below (in alphabetical order):

Faculty Track:

Sang-Hoon Bae, Assistant Professor from University of Washington in St Louis

Gili Bisker, Assistant Professor from Tel Aviv University

Arka Majumdar, Associate Professor from University of Washington Francisco Robles, Associate Professor from Georgia Institute of Technology

Xing Sheng, Associate Professor from Tsinghua University

Junjie Yao, Associate Professor from Duke University

Before Faculty Track: (two applicants share the same average grades so there are 7 finalists in total)

Jiangang Feng, Postdoc from National University of Singapore
Weiliang Ma, PhD Candidate from Huazhong University of Science

and Technology

Luciano Masullo, Postdoc from Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

Haoran Ren, Associate Investigator from Monash University

Danqing Wang, Postdoc from Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light

Shiqi Xia, Postdoc from Nankai University

You Zhou, Postdoc from Stanford University

Finalists can each enjoy one coupon of waiving publication fee in Light: Science & Applications (valid until 2025). Finalists from Before Faculty track will each give a 12 min academic report at the 'iCANX' on 20th Oct, followed by 7 min Q&A time; Finalists from Faculty track will each give a 15 min academic report at the 'iCANX' on 27th Oct, followed by 8 min Q&A time.

The committee will rate finalists based on innovation (40%), impact (30%), and performance (30%). The below awards will be presented on 27th Oct, 2023:

Rising Stars of Light Winners: Faculty Track (3 person, 1500USD before tax), Before Faculty Track (3 person, 1500USD before tax)

Rising Stars of Light Candidates: Faculty Track (3 person), Before Faculty Track (3 person)

Committee Members

Committee of Faculty Track



Chair, Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles, Chancellor's Professor



Co-Chair, Harry Atwater, California Institute of Technology, Howard Hughes Professor



Co-Chair, Lan Yang, Washington University in St. Louis, Edwin H. & Florence G. Skinner Professor



Co-Chair, Andrea Alù, City University of New York, CUNY Distinguished Professor & Einstein Professor of Physics



Co-Chair, Min Qiu, Westlake University, Chair Professor of Photonics and Vice President



Co-Chair, Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University and Australian Research Council, Professor

Committee of Before Faculty Track



Chair, Martin Booth, University of Oxford, Professor



Co-Chair, Na Liu, University of Stuttgart, Professor



Co-Chair, Nicholas Fang, University of Hong Kong, Professor



Co-Chair, Mona Jarrahi, University of California, Los Angeles, Professor and Northrop Grumman Endowed Chair



Co-Chair, Qihua Xiong, Tsinghua University, Professor



Co-Chair, Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney, Professor