Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023

The 2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots. Quantum dots are semiconductor nanocrystals whose properties can be tuned by their physical size. While Brus and Ekimov independently created quantum dots and linked their nanometre size to their observed optical quantum properties, Bawendi developed the synthesis process, obtaining nanoparticles of uniform size and quality. Quantum dots are now widely employed, for example, in computer and television screens based on the QLED (quantum light emitting diode) technology, or in biochemistry to track cells, and medicine to identify tumour tissue within the body. The discoveries of this year’s Chemistry Nobel Prize Laureates have paved the way for advancements in the field of nanotechnology and still have repercussions not just on the wider research community but also on our society, given the wide applicability of quantum dots.

In this Collection, Nature Portfolio recognizes the achievements of the Laureates in a selection of featured content, articles from the winners, related research papers, and reviews, news and opinion pieces that highlight the development of quantum dots over the past three decades.

Nobel prize medal in front of a collection of chemistry glassware partially filled with liquid.

This Collection is editorially independent, produced with financial support from a third party. About this content.

Featured Content

From the Winners

Related Research

Reviews, News and Opinions