Focal Point |

Focal Point on Japan’s Designated National University initiative

Advertisement Feature

Reforming the system

In a bold new programme, the Japanese government has picked three universities to participate in a scheme designed to inject new life into Japan’s national universities. The Designated National University initiative will provide additional funding and cut red tape, making it easier for universities to develop alternate income streams, attract top researchers and students and to collaborate with industry. The three universities – Kyoto University, Tohoku University and the University of Tokyo – will be trail blazers, leading the way for other universities to follow.

Focal Point feature

Designated for progress
Produced in partnership with Kyoto University, Tohoku University & the University of Tokyo

Partner content

Blazing a trail for reform
Kyoto University

Reaching for greater heights
Tohoku University

A better future for all
The University of Tokyo