2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

We present this Collection of research, review and comment from Nature Research to celebrate the award of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne — who are recognized "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves". The success of LIGO is a testament to their vision, ingenuity and sheer perseverance over several decades. 

Comment & Review

Observables & Implications


Beyond LIGO