Nobel Prize in Physics 2021

The 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi for their advances in complex physical systems. In recognition of this award, Nature Portfolio presents a collection of research, review and opinion articles that celebrates the direct contributions by the awardees and the discoveries they have inspired.

Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann are awarded the Nobel Prize “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”. Their contributions laid the foundation for advances in climate modelling and development, and detection and attribution methodologies.

Giorgio Parisi received the award “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”, with applications including glasses, random lasers and optimization problems.

Complexity in physical systems

Climate modelling and development

Detection and attribution of climate change

Glassy physics and applications