About the Editors


Hillard M. Lazarus, USA

Hillard Lazarus is Professor of Medicine and Director of Novel Cell Therapies at Case Western Reserve University, University Hospitals Case Medical Center, where he is The George & Edith Richman Professor & Distinguished Scientist in Cancer Research. Dr. Lazarus is recognized for his contributions in the areas of mesenchymal stem cell transplantation, autologous blood and marrow transplantation for lymphoma, and allogeneic blood and marrow transplantation for malignancies. He has over 500 publications and has been a committed teacher and mentor to countless house officers, fellows and faculty.

Mohamad Mohty, France

Mohamad Mohty is Professor of Hematology and head of the Hematology and cellular therapy Department at the Saint-Antoine Hospital and University Pierre & Marie Curie (Paris, France). Professor Mohty is also head of a translational research team (INSERM) at the Saint-Antoine Research centre in Paris and his research is focused on the pathophysiology and immunobiology of normal and pathological antigen-presenting cells, especially the impact of immunomodulatory agents. He has a special clinical focus on the development of reduced-toxicity conditioning regimens, immunotherapy and different aspects of therapy of multiple myeloma. Professor Mohty serves as Scientific Council Chair of the European Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT) and the “Intergroupe Francophone du Myelome” (IFM).

Executive Editor 

Robert Peter Gale, USA 

BMT Ambassadors

Jane Apperley, UK 

Armand Keating, Canada

Alejandro Madrigal, UK

Yair Reisner, Israel

Associate Editors

Veronika Bachanova, USA

Karen Ballen, USA 

A. John Barrett, USA 

Ali Bazarbachi, Lebanon
Ali Bazarbachi, MD, PhD is a Professor of Medicine (Hematology and Oncology), Associate Dean for basic research, and Director of the bone marrow transplantation program at the American University of Beirut-Medical Center in Lebanon. His research focuses on developing oncogene-targeted therapies for adult T cell leukemia/lymphoma and acute myeloid leukemia as well as on post transplant pharmacological interventions. He has co-authored more than 210 articles in leading scientific journals. He is the Chairman of the EMBMT Leukemia Working Party, Chairman of the NCCN Lymphoma Group for Middle East and North Africa, and Associate Editor of Bone Marrow Transplantation.

Enric Carreras, Spain

Ed Copelan, USA

Jan Cornelissen, Netherlands

Marcelo Fernandez-Vina, USA

Sergio Giralt, USA 

Rupert Handgretinger, Germany 

Per Ljungman, Sweden 
Per Ljungman is senior physician at Department of Cellular Therapy and Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplantation at Karolinska University hospital and former director of the departments of hematology and allogeneic stem cell transplantation at the same hospital. He is also former professor (adjunct) of hematology, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. Per Ljungman was the first chair of the Infectious Diseases Working Party of the EBMT and has also served as the EBMT secretary. He has published more than 350 peer reviewed papers most on viral infections and vaccinations in allogeneic stem cell transplant recipients.

Arnon Nagler, Israel 

Jakob Passweg, Switzerland 
Jakob Passweg is head of hematology at the Basel University Hospital in Switzerland. He has trained in hematology and internal medicine, holds a M.S. in epidemiology, and has completed his training at the CIBMTR as a research fellow in the 1990s. He has served as chair of the aplastic anemia working party of the EBMT. His research interests are in marrow failure and in aspects of outcome research in the hematopoetic cell transplant field. He leads the annual EBMT activity survey where transplant activity and trends in Europe are analysed.

Pavan Reddy, USA

Marcie Riches, USA

Bipin Savani, USA
Professor of Medicine, Director of Long Term Transplant Clinic and Medical Director of the Stem Cell Transplant Processing Laboratory at Vanderbilt University Medical Center & Veterans Affairs Medical. Dr Savani’s area of specialization is in the treatment of hematological malignancies and stem cell transplantation, and his primary field of research is in the long-term follow-up after transplantation, including regimen-related toxicity/ supportive care, and outcomes analysis of transplant recipients. Dr Savani has published over 300 peer-reviewed articles, reviews, book chapters, editorials, perspectives and commentaries in the field of hematological malignancies and stem cell transplantation. He is an associate editor of the journals Bone Marrow Transplantation and Biology of Blood and Marrow Transplantation; and serves as an editorial advisory board member for several journals in the field. Dr Savani serves as director of community/ clinical practice and board member of American Society of Blood and Marrow Transplantation (ASBMT) and Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy (FACT). Dr Savani is currently Co-Chair of the steering Committee on Practice Guidelines (ASBMT) and the leader of the Conditioning Regimen Subcommittee of the Acute Leukemia Working Party of the EBMT. He also serves as Clinical Trials Advisory Committee member-CIBMTR and medical monitor for Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trial Network (BMT-CTN). In 2013-2018, Dr Savani served as Co-Chair of the late effects and quality of life working party, CIBMTR.  He has recently edited several special issues for Seminars in Hematology, Hematology/ Oncology Clinics of North America and edited Wiley books entitled "Blood and Marrow Transplantation Long Term Management: Prevention and Complications" and "Clinical guide to transplantation in lymphomas". 

Bart Scott, USA

Jordi Sierra Gil, Spain

Takanori Teshima, Japan 

Mei-Jie Zhang, USA  

Social Media Editor

Florent Malard, France
Florent Malard is Associate Professor of Hematology at the Saint-Antoine Hospital and Sorbonne University. He is also a researcher at the Saint-Antoine research Center in Paris and his research focus on Graft-versus-Host disease, microbiota and immunological complication of allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation. He is leading the microbiota working group within the Cellular Therapy and Immunotherapy Working Party of The EBMT. He has published more than 60 papers in peer-reviewed journals.