New Associate Editor for BDJ

The *British Dental Journal* is delighted to welcome Dr Padhraig Fleming as Associate Editor.

Padhraig is currently Reader, Consultant and DClin Dent Programme Lead in Orthodontics at the Institute of Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London. He studied Dentistry in Trinity College Dublin graduating with a Gold Medal and First Class Honours and



undertook postgraduate and Consultant training in orthodontics at the Royal London. He was awarded his MSc with Distinction in 2007, the Membership in Orthodontics and British Orthodontic Society Medal in 2008, FDS (Orth.) from the Royal College of Surgeons in 2010 and his PhD in 2013.

Padhraig comes to the *BDJ* with a wealth of editorial experience holding Associate Editor positions with the *American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Journal of Dentistry, Orthodontics and Craniofacial Research* and *Progress in Orthodontics* and is on the editorial board of numerous other journals. He has published over 120 peer-reviewed papers and has received research awards from the British Orthodontic Society and the B.F. and Helen E. Dewel Award from the American Association of Orthodontists in 2011. He has co-authored two successful orthodontic textbooks: *Clinical cases in orthodontics* and *Functional appliances: theory and practice.*

Honours, awards, appointments

New OMFS chair

Emma Woolley, Consultant OMFS surgeon and Director of Medical and Dental Education at the Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board, has been appointed the new chair of the Specialty Advisory Committee (SAC) responsible for oral and maxillofacial surgery.

New committee chair

Richard Graham has been elected Chair of the BDA's Northern Ireland Dental Practice Committee (NI DPC). Susan Nelson and Derek Manson have also been elected to serve as the Committee's vice chairs.

GDPC elections

Henrik Overgaard-Nielsen has been re-elected as chair of the BDA's General Dental Practice Committee (GDPC). Dave Cottam has been re-elected to serve as the Committee's Vice Chair alongside newly elected Shawn Charlwood. New members of the Executive are Shiv Pabary and Leah Farrell, with Nick Stolls and Nilesh Patel both re-elected.

NISDC chair

Grainne Quinn has been re-elected as Chair of the BDA's Northern Ireland Salaried Dentists Committee (NISDC). Grainne previously served as NISDC Chair from 2015-2017. Ruth Early was elected as Vice Chair of NISDC.