NEWS

Derry Shanley

At the recent meeting of the Association of Basic Science Teachers in Dentistry (ABSTD) in Dublin, Professor Derry Shanley (pictured top, centre) was awarded Honorary Life Membership of the Association.

This award was in recognition of Derry's role in enabling basic dental scientists in Europe to meet, get to know each other, exchange ideas and work together. This was facilitated initially by his work in the DENTED project and subsequently with his role in ADEE. Derry took ABSTD into Europe.

Dr Mervyn Druian

Dr Mervyn Druian (pictured here) was given a dinner in his honour by the acclaimed Alpha Omega International Dental Society. Not only was Mervyn's dedication to dentistry recognised by Alpha Omega, but he also received two prominent letters of congratulations. The first came from Professor Joseph Klafter President of Tel Aviv University, which acknowledged his 'longstanding contribution to Alpha Omega'. The second letter was from Daniel Taub (Israel's Ambassador to the United Kingdom) which observed 'Dr

HONOURS AND AWARDS





Mervyn Druian is not only an extraordinary dentist but an extraordinary friend of Israel, who has supported our State both as leader of Alpha Omega and as a visiting lecturer to dental schools across the country, passing on his expertise to the next generation. His efforts, in addition, to reach out to Palestinian dentists are testament to his dedication to building personal and professional relationships that advance the prospect of peace.

Maurice Wohl Dental Practice

The Maurice Wohl Dental Practice Centre (below) recently celebrated another year's success by awarding prizes for excellence to final year students. The prize winners were Mr Edward Li (prize winner), Mr Jake O'Connell (certificate of merit), Miss Teesta Pabari (most improved student). Separate awards were made to Group 5.2B (Miss Anisha Amin, Mr Jean-Medard Croos, Mr Edward Li, Miss Sarah Man, Miss Teesta Pabari, Miss Tanya Patel, Mr Takaaki Sato and Mr Tony Seprenji) for winning the Practice Website Design Competition. Dr Igor Blum, Director of the Maurice Wohl Dental Centre, congratulated the prize winners and Dr Leslie Howe, Director of Undergraduate Education at King's College London Dental Institute, presented the prizes.

