Women’s work

Academic chemistry is haemorrhaging talented female researchers. However, a barrage of new initiatives aims to stem the flood.

Access options

Rent or Buy article

Get time limited or full article access on ReadCube.

from$8.99

All prices are NET prices.

Fig. 1: Women in academic chemistry.

References

  1. 1.

    Royal Society of Chemistry. Diversity landscape of the chemical sciences. RSC http://www.rsc.org/globalassets/02-about-us/our-strategy/inclusion-diversity/cm-044-17_a4-diversity-landscape-of-the-chemical-sciences-report_web-2.pdf (2018).

  2. 2.

    National Science Foundation. Women, minorities, and persons with disabilities in science and engineering: data tables. NSF https://www.nsf.gov/statistics/2017/nsf17310/data.cfm (2017).

  3. 3.

    Open Chemistry Collaborative in Diversity Equity. Demographics data: gender 2014–15. OXIDE http://oxide.jhu.edu/2/Gender_2014-15 (2019).

  4. 4.

    Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker. Juniorprofessur statt habilitation? [German]. GDCh https://www.gdch.de/fileadmin/downloads/Ausbildung_und_Karriere/Karriere/PDF/2017_NCh_GDCh_Habilumfage_2016.pdf (2017).

  5. 5.

    Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker. Statistik der chemiestudiengänge 2017: eine umfrage der GDCh zu chemiestudiengängen an universitäten und hochschulen in Deutschland [German]. GDCh https://www.gdch.de/fileadmin/downloads/Ausbildung_und_Karriere/Karriere/Statistik/2017_Statistik_web.pdf (2018).

  6. 6.

    The Royal Australian Chemical Institute. Women in the science research workforce. raci https://www.raci.org.au/theraci/advocacy/women-in-the-science-research-workforce (2019).

  7. 7.

    Royal Society of Chemistry. Breaking the barriers: women’s retention and progression in the chemical sciences. RSC http://www.rsc.org/globalassets/02-about-us/our-strategy/inclusion-diversity/womens-progression/media-pack/v18_vo_inclusion-and-diversity-_womans-progression_report-web-.pdf (2018).

  8. 8.

    Ma, Y. et al. Women who win prizes get less money and prestige. Nature 565, 287–288 (2019).

    CAS  Article  Google Scholar 

  9. 9.

    US National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Sexual harassment of women: climate, culture, and consequences in academic sciences, engineering, and medicine (2018). National Academies http://sites.nationalacademies.org/shstudy/index.htm (2018).

  10. 10.

    The Gender Equality Taskforce. Accelerating gender equality in Irish higher education institutions: gender action plan 2018–2020. HEA http://hea.ie/assets/uploads/2018/11/Gender-Equality-Taskforce-Action-Plan-2018-2020.pdf (2018).

  11. 11.

    Grogan, K. E. How the entire scientific community can confront gender bias in the workplace. Nat. Eco. Evol. 3, 3–6 (2019).

    Article  Google Scholar 

  12. 12.

    Valian, V. Two Nobels for women - why so slow? Nature 562, 165 (2018).

    CAS  Article  Google Scholar 

  13. 13.

    The Royal Society of Edinburgh. Tapping all our talents review 2018: women in STEM. RSE https://www.rse.org.uk/inquiries/womeninstem-2018 (2018).

Download references

Author information

Affiliations

Authors

Corresponding author

Correspondence to Mark Peplow.

Additional information

Related links

Kimberly Woznack: https://www.calu.edu/inside/faculty-staff/profiles/kimberly-woznack.aspx

Randall Peterson: https://www.london.edu/faculty-and-research/faculty/profiles/p/peterson-r-s

Michelle Coote: http://rsc.anu.edu.au/~mcoote/

Polly Arnold: http://www.chem.ed.ac.uk/staff/academic-staff/professor-polly-l-arnold-frs

Cathleen Crudden: https://www.chem.queensu.ca/crudden-cathleen

National Science Foundation’s (NSF’s) ADVANCE program: https://www.nsf.gov/funding/pgm_summ.jsp?pims_id=5383

Dorothy Hodgkin fellowships: https://royalsociety.org/grants-schemes-awards/grants/dorothy-hodgkin-fellowship/

Daphne Jackson Trust: https://daphnejackson.org/

Jihong Yu: https://synlab.jlu.edu.cn/en/2013/11/1776.html

Diversify Chemistry: https://diversifychemistry.com/

Equal opportunities commission at the German Chemical Society (GDCh): https://www.gdch.de/gdch/kommissionen-und-kuratorien/chancengleichheit-in-der-chemie.html

Lesley Yellowlees: http://www.chem.ed.ac.uk/staff/academic-staff/professor-lesley-yellowlees

Karen Salt: https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/clas/people/karen.salt

Inclusion Matters programme: https://epsrc.ukri.org/newsevents/news/inclusionmatters/

Athena SWAN (Scientific Women’s Academic Network): https://www.ecu.ac.uk/equality-charters/athena-swan/about-athena-swan/

SEA Change: https://seachange.aaas.org/about/

Rights and permissions

Reprints and Permissions

About this article

Verify currency and authenticity via CrossMark

Cite this article

Peplow, M. Women’s work. Nat Rev Chem 3, 283–286 (2019). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41570-019-0098-y

Download citation

Further reading

Search

Sign up for the Nature Briefing newsletter for a daily update on COVID-19 science.
Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing