Table 6 Classification of active and inactive nAMD, NICE 2018 guideline for diagnosis and management of AMD [12]

From: Action on neovascular age-related macular degeneration (nAMD): recommendations for management and service provision in the UK hospital eye service

nAMD classification Definition
Late AMD (wet active) ▪ Classic CNV
  ▪ Occult (fibrovascular PED and serous PED with neovascularisation)
  ▪ Mixed (predominantly or minimally classic CNV with occult CNV)
  ▪ RAP
  ▪ PCV
Late AMD (wet inactive) ▪ Fibrous scar
  ▪ Sub-foveal atrophy or fibrosis secondary to a RPE tear
  ▪ Atrophy (absence or thinning of RPE and/or retina)
  ▪ Cystic degeneration (persistent intraretinal fluid or tubulations unresponsive to treatment)
  NB Eyes classified as wet inactive may still develop or have a recurrence of wet active AMD
  1. See ref. [12]. NICE © 2018. All rights reserved. Subject to Notice of rights
  2. AMD age-related macular degeneration, CNV choroidal neovascularisation, NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, PCV polypoidal choroidal vasculopathy, PED pigment epithelial detachment, RAP retinal angiomatous proliferation, RPE retinal pigment epithelium