Biography: Prof. Jagadish is a Distinguished Professor of the Australian National University. He is serving as Editor-in-Chief (EIC) of Applied Physics Reviews and also served as EIC of Progress in Quantum Electronics. His research interests include compound semiconductor optoelectronics, nanotechnology, photovoltaics and neurotechnology. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a Fellow of IEEE, APS, OSA, SPIE, AAAS, TWAS, etc., a Foreign Member of the US National Academy of Engineering, a Foreign Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy and Indian National Academy of Engineering.

He has been awarded the Australian Federation Fellowship (2004–2009) and the Australian Laureate Fellowship (2009–2014) by the Australian Research Council. He has received many awards, including The Quantum Device Award (ISCS, 2010), IEEE Pioneer in Nanotechnology Award (2015), IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award (2015), Distinguished Fellow of the Chinese Academy of Sciences President’s International Fellowship Initiative (2016), Welker Award from ISCS (2017) and Lyle Medal from the Australian Academy of Science(2019).

Light special correspondent

Hui Wang is the Deputy Director of the Office of International Cooperation in the Changchun Institute of Optics, Fine Mechanics and Physics (CIOMP), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). She currently works on international communication and cooperation for the CIOMP and was a founding member for the Nature Publishing Group and CIOMP joint journal Light: Science & Applications. She is the founder of “Rose in Science” and has published several articles in Acta Editologica, Inter-national Talent, etc., and was invited to take an interview by SPIE Women in Optics, which was published in 2015.