RESOURCES

PEOPLE

Carl Bobkoski has been named president and COO of Cypress Bioscience (San Diego, CA), replacing Debby Jo Blank, who has joined Isis Pharmaceuticals (Carlsbad, CA) as executive vice president. Mr. Bobkoski was formerly executive vice president at Signal Pharmaceuticals. Cypress has also announced that R. Michael Gendreau, currently vice president of R&D and chief medical officer, has been promoted to executive vice president of R&D and has been given the additional title of chief scientific officer.

Thomas J. DesRosier has been named senior vice president and chief patent counsel at Genzyme (Cambridge, MA). Mr. DesRosier most recently served as assistant general counsel for patents at American Home Products, directing intellectual property efforts for the company's pharmaceutical products.

David A. Ebersman has been promoted to the position of vice president, product development, at Genentech (S. San Francisco, CA). Mr. Ebersman previously served as senior director, product development, and has held positions at Genentech in the area of business development. Before joining Genentech, he was a research analyst covering biotechnology investments for Oppenheimer & Co.

Æterna Laboratories (Québec City, Québec, Canada) has appointed Claude Hariton as vice president of regulatory affairs. Dr. Hariton was formerly director of regulatory affairs at Novartis Pharma. Also, director of scientific affairs Pierre Falardeau has been named vice president of scientific affairs at Æterna.

Neoprobe (Dublin, OH) has elected Julius R. Krevans chairman of its board of directors. He replaces John L. Ridihalgh, who resigned to pursue other business interests. Dr. Krevans has been a member of the Neoprobe board since 1994. He is chancellor emeritus of the University of California, San Francisco. Neoprobe also announced the appointment of Brent L. Larson to the position of CFO. Mr. Larson joined Neoprobe in 1996, and has been vice president, finance since July 1998.

Louis F. Mocca has been named vice president, regulatory affairs at Aviron (Mountain View, CA). He joins Aviron from North American Vaccine, where he served most recently as senior director, regulatory affairs.

Michael W. Rogers has been named execu-

tive vice president, chief financial officer, and treasurer at Interneuron Pharmaceuticals (Lexington, MA). Mr. Rogers, who has held a number of senior financial and corporate finance positions with public companies and investment banking firms, including Lehman Brothers and PaineWebber, comes to Interneuron from Advanced Health Corp., a physician practice management and IT company, where he was executive vice president and chief financial and corporate development officer.

Targeted Genetics (Seattle, WA) has announced three executive appointments: Darrell J. Salk as vice president of clinical affairs, Michael T. Burke as vice president of corporate development, and Janet Rose Christensen as senior director of regulatory affairs and quality assurance. Dr. Salk most recently served as an independent consultant to the biotechnology industry and as an affiliate associate professor in pathology and pediatrics at the University of Washington; Mr. Burke served as vice president of busidevelopment for NeXstar Pharmaceuticals; and Ms. Christensen was previously director, quality and regulatory affairs, at MDS Panlabs.

Elan Corp. (Dublin, Ireland) has named Daniel P. Tully to its board of directors. Mr. Tully is chairman emeritus of Merrill Lynch & Co., and was formerly vice chairman of the New York Stock Exchange, vice chairman of the American Stock Exchange, and chairman of the board of governors of the National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD).

Alliance Pharmaceutical (San Diego, CA) has appointed Artemios B. Vassos to the newly created position of executive vice president and chief scientific officer. Before joining Alliance, Dr. Vassos was senior director of clinical pharmacology and experimental medicine at Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical Research.

SmithKline Beecham (Philadelphia, PA) has named Tadataka Yamada as chairman, R&D, pharmaceuticals. He succeeds David U'Prichard, who has resigned to pursue other interests. Dr. Yamada has served as president of



SmithKline Beecham's health care services unit since 1996, and has been a member of the board of directors since 1994.