# samuelpruzansky memoriallecture

#### HUNTINGTON F. WILLARD, PHD

Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

#### X Inactivation, Dosage Compensation, and the Sex Chromosomes

The Samuel Pruzansky Memorial Lectureship was established in memory of the founder and director of the world's first center for craniofacial anomalies, and is sponsored by the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation.

Dr. Pruzansky was an internationally renowned research scholar, clinician and teacher who served as Acting Chief of the Clinical Investigations Branch of the National Institute of Dental Research from 1953 to 1955. In 1959, under the Institute's auspices, he chaired the Gatlinburg Conference, the definitive meeting on craniofacial anomalies.

During the course of his academic career at the University of Illinois, Dr. Pruzansky was Associate Director of the Cleft Palate Clinic which, in 1967, was expanded to become the first Center for Craniofacial Anomalies, with Dr. Pruzansky as its founding director.

A visiting professor at many universities here and abroad, consultant to crippled children's programs, and active member of numerous NIH scientific committees, Dr. Pruzansky also was president of the American Cleft Palate Association, the Teratology Society, and the International Society for Craniofacial Biology. He participated in various birth defects meetings, including the first conference on the subject at Johns Hopkins University. An avid and long-time supporter of the March of Dimes, he served as Chairman of the Medical Advisory Committee of the Chicago chapter.

In addition to receiving many awards and honors, Dr. Pruzansky was the first nonsurgeon invited to deliver the V. H. Kazanjian lecture in plastic surgery at New York University. A memorial volume, "Craniofacial Dysmorphology: Studies in Honor of Samuel Pruzansky," was published as a tribute to his achievements.

### Previous Pruzansky Memorial Lecturers and their affiliations at the time of the award:

1998 **Henry A. Erlich, PhD** Roche Molecular Systems Alameda, CA

#### 1997 **Connie Eaves, PhD** Terry Fox Laboratory Vancouver, BC, Canada

1996 Clifford J. Tabin, PhD Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

1995 **Savio L. Woo, PhD** Center for Gene Therapy Baylor College of Medicine Houston, TX

1994 Scott F. Gilbert, PhD Swarthmore College Swarthmore, PA

1992 **Grant Sutherland, PhD, DSc** Adelaide Children's Hospital North Adelaide, SA, Australia 1991

## D. Carleton Gajdusek, MD

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke Bethesda, MD

#### 1990

Francis S. Collins, MD Univ. of Michigan Medical School Ann Arbor, MI

Lap-Chee Tsui, PhD Hospital for Sick Children Toronto, Ontario, Canada

1989 Louis M. Kunkel, MD Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

1988 Elizabeth D. Hay, MD Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

1987 **Drew Noden, MD** *Cornell University Ithaca, NY* 

1986 Sir Andrew Hurley, OM, FRS Trinity College Cambridge, United Kingdom