ADVERTISEMENT FEATURE Advertiser retains sole responsibility for the content of this article

Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award

2020 Laureates

The Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award 2020 are awarded jointly to Sir Michael V. Berry, Charles L. Kane, and Qikun Xue.

Sir Michael V. Berry, a professor at University of Bristol, for the theoretical discovery of the geometric phase that is widely known as Berry phase in basic quantum mechanics.

Sir Michael V. BerryCredit: Fudan University

Charles L. Kane, a professor at University of Pennsylvania, for his pioneering contributions that have generated the field of topological insulators.

Charles L. KaneCredit: Fudan University

Qikun Xue, a professor at Tsinghua University, for the experiment discovery of the quantum anomalous Hall effect.

Qikun XueCredit: Fudan University

The award was jointly founded in 2015 by Fudan University and Zhongzhi Enterprise Group, in recognition of scientists who have made fundamental and groundbreaking achievements in physics, mathematics, and biomedicine. The award aims to promote global scientific research, and advance science and technology, providing an international platform for research communication, discussion and sharing. The 2020 award is the second given in the field of physics. The laureates share 3 million RMB donated by Zhongzhi Enterprise Group. The prize-giving ceremony will be held on 13 December, in Shanghai.


Committee of the Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award