-ANNOUNCEMENTS-

Awards

Professor K.D. Cole of Latrobe University, Melbourne, Australia, has been awarded the 1984 Appleton Prize for Ionospheric Physics by the Royal Society UK, in recognition for his contributions to understanding the fundamental processes taking place in the magnetosphere.

The Royal Society has also elected the following as new Foreign Members: Professor P-G. De Gennes, Professor at the Collège de France, Paris, in recognition of his many major contributions to theoretical physics - in the fields of magnetism, superconductivity, liquid crystals, polymers and mixed fluid flows; Professor R. Hoffmann, John A. Newman Professor of Physical Science at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA, in recognition of his contributions to theoretical chemistry, particularly as originator of the extended Huckel theory; Professor M. Meselson, Cabot Professor of Natural Science, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, in recognition of his first demonstration of semiconservative DNA replication and for his studies on the mechanism of genetic recombination; Professor G.E. Palade, Professor of Cell Biology at Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA, in recognition of his investigations of the ultrastructure of biological cells, and notably the description and the delineation of the functions of the endoplasmic reticulum; Professor C. Rubbia, Professor of Physics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, and Senior Research Officer, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland, in recognition of his work as an initiator of important experiments in new areas of high energy physics, and Professor H.H. Ussing, Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, in recognition of his work on the active and passive transport of ions across cell membranes and on the functioning of secretory epithelia.

Emeritus Professor Sir Alan Harris, FEng of Imperial College London, has been awarded the Gold Medal of the Institution of Structural Engineers.

Professor J.T. Stuart, FRS, Head of the Department of Mathematics at Imperial College, has been awarded the Whitehead Prize of the London Mathematical Society.

Professor Michael Sela, President of the Weizmann Institute of Science, Professor Louis Chedid of the Pasteur Institute, Paris and Professor Edgar Lederer of the French Academy of Science, have been jointly awarded the Prix de l'Institut de la Vie by the Fondation Electricité in France for their elucidation and perfection of the production of synthetic vaccines and the adjuvants of immunity.

Mr Erik Quistgaard, Director General of the European Space Agency, has been presented with the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal.

Dr Richard Beasley of Wellington University, New Zealand, has been awarded the first two-year fellowship by the Wellcome Trust in association with the Medical Research Council of New Zealand, to study factors underlying asthma—at the Department of Medicine, Southampton University.

Appointments

Sir Alec Merrison and Professor L.A. Thomas have been elected President and Vice-president, respectively, of the Institute of Physics, London.

Dr John Midwinter, Head of the Optical Communications Technology Division of British Telecom, has been elected to the British Telecom Chair of Optoelectrics at the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London.

Professor Brian May, Head of Silsoe College, Bedfordshire, UK, has been elected President of the Institution of Agricultural Engineers.

Professor Guillermo Soberón Acevedo, Secretary of Health and Welfare, Mexico, has been elected President of the 37th Annual Session of the World Health Assembly (WHO), Geneva, Switzerland.

Professor Edwin C. Cadman, MD, Professor of Medicine at the University College of San Francisco, has been elected to the presidency of the American Federation of Clinical Research.

Dr Gordon H. Sato, Director of the W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center, has been elected a Member of the National Academy of Sciences, USA.

James F. McDonald has been elected President and chief operating officer of Gould Electronics, Illinois, USA, while David Simpson has been elected vice-chairman of the board.

Professor Roderick N.M. McSween has been appointed to the Chair of Pathology at the University of Glasgow; also at Glasgow University, Professor Kenneth C. Calman has been appointed to the Chair of Postgraduate Medical Education and the Deanship of Postgraduate Medicine, and Dr Miles D. Hounsley has been appointed to the Gardiner Chair of Biochemistry.

Professor Gilmour Toner has been appointed to the Musgrave Chair of Pathology, and Dr Ronald Henry Perrott to the Chair of Software Engineering at the Queen's University of Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Professor Bryan Carsberg of the London School of Economics has been appointed as Director General of Telecommunications, UK.

Dr John Rose, a Director of Dainichi Sykes Robotics Ltd, has been appointed to the United Kingdom's first University chair in automated manufacturing technology at the University of Salford. Arnold Allen, CBE, a Chief Executive at the UK Atomic Energy Authority, has been appointed its full-time Chairman.

Michael Bown, formerly Group President in charge of International Operations at Peabody International Corporation, has been appointed as the the first Director of CEED - the UK Centre for Economic and Environmental Development.

Dr George Russell, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Heriot-Watt University, has been appointed to a new Professorship within that Department.

Dr Bernard Wegener has been appointed Managing Director of Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals GmBH, Ruesselsheim, West Germany.

Dr Bernard Hyams of the UK has been appointed by the Council of CERN – The European Laboratory for Particle Physics near Geneva, Switzerland – as the new head of the Experimental Physics Division.

Erich Bloch, currently Vice President for Technical Personnel Development at IBM, has been appointed Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Dr Moustafa T. Chahine has been appointed to the position of Chief Scientist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), NASA, California; he is currently Manager of the Earth and Space Sciences Division at JPL.

Paul F. Engstrom, MD, has been named vice-president of Cancer Control and Continuing Education at the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, USA.

Paul Beeson MD, Charles K. Donegan MD, Adrian Ostfeld MD, James Neel MD, and Dr Martha Storandt have been appointed as new members of the National Advisory Council on Aging, USA.

Short Courses

Autumn 1984, Continuing Engineering Education Program organised by the George Washington University; London, Copenhagen, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt (Mr Michael Keenan, Manager, The George Washington University Continuing Engineering Education Program, 18 St. George's Street, Hanover Square, Mayfair, London W1R 9DE, UK).

18-20 September, Introduction to Reinforced Plastics, (Short Course Office (IFRP), Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Sheffield, Mappin Street, Sheffield S1 3JD, UK).

24-27 September, **Programming in Pascal** and 23-25 October, **Control of Mechanical Systems** (The Registrar, The University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, PO Box 88, Manchester M60 1OD, UK).

17-19 October, Basic High Performance Liquid Chromatography Course, (Chrompack UK Ltd., Unit 4, Indescon Court, Millharbour, London E14 9TN).

19-22 November, Training Course in Fluid Rheology (Mr L.J. Viney, Warren Spring Laboratory, Gunnels Wood Road, Stevenage, Hertfordshire SG1 2BX, UK).