ANNOUNCEMENTS-

Awards

Upon approval by Her Majesty the Queen the Royal Society UK, has awarded three Royal Medals for 1984: to Professor A.R. Battersby, Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Cambridge, for contributions to the elucidation of the pathway for the biosynthesis of complex natural products; to Dr Mary F. Lyon, Member of the Scientific Staff of the Medical Research Council for contributions to the discovery of X-chromosome inactivation as a mechanism of gene dosage compensation: and to Professor A.L. Cullen, Emeritus Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of London, for contributions to microwave engineering, both theoretical and experimental, and in particular for research on microwave antennae.

Further awards of the Royal Society for 1984 include: the Copley Medal to Professor Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, Morton D. Hull Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, USA, for his work on theoretical physics, including stellar structure, theory of radiation, hydrodynamic stability and relativity; the Rumford Medal to Professor H.H. Hopkins, Professor of Applied Optics at the University of Reading, for his many contributions to the theory and design of optical instruments; the Davy Medal to Sir Sam Edwards, John Humhrey Plummer Professor of Physics at the University of Cambridge for his contributions to the theoretical basis of thermodynamic aspects of polymer chemistry; the Darwin Medal to Professor E. Mayr, Agassiz Professor Emeritus of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University, USA, for his contribution to evolutionary biology; the Hughes Medal to Professor R.P. Kerr, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, for his work on relativity, especially the discovery of the so-called Kerr black hole; the Leverhulme Medal to Professor J.F. Davidson, Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge, for his contribution to chemical engineering, in particular the use of fluidized beds.

The Royal Society Wellcome Foundation Prize has been jointly awarded to Professor E.R. Andrew, Professor of Physics at the University of Florida, USA (formerly of the University of Nottingham); Dr J.M.S. Hutchison, lecturer in biomedial physics at the University of Aberdeen; Professor J.R. Mallard Professor of Biomedical Physics at the University of Aberdeen; and Professor P. Mansfield, Professor of Physics at the University of Nottingham, in recognition of their development of NMR imaging as a diagnostic tool in medicine.

At this year's "Analytica" in Munich, the Boehringer prize for Analytical Biochemistry was presented to **Dr Edwin** **Southern** for his work on DNA hybridization and its applications in the diagnosis of hereditary diseases.

Lister Institute Research Fellowships have been awarded to **Dr Jeffrey Almond** of the University of Leicester, Department of Microbiology; **Dr Malcolm McCrae** of the University of Warwick, Department of Biological Sciences; **Dr Brian Nunn** of the University of Cambridge, Physiological Laboratory; **Dr Claude Wishik** of the University of Cambridge, Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Department of Psychiatry; and **Dr Stephen Yeaman** of the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Department of Biochemistry.

Applications are invited for the Andre Lichtwitz prize awarded by the Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale for outstanding clinical or fundamental research on calcium and phosphorus metabolism carried out during the past year by a French or foreign scientist (or team). Conditions of entry for the 1984 prize of 11,000 French francs are obtainable from I.N.S.E.R.M. (c/o Mlle. C. Chirol, 101 rue de Tolbiac 75654, Paris Cédex 13, France). Closing date 30 September 1984.

The International Union Against Cancer is looking for candidates for four fellowship programmes (The American Cancer Society-Eleanor Roosevelt-International Cancer Fellowships; the Yamagiwa-Yshida Memorial International Cancer Study Grants; the International Cancer Research Technology Transfer Awards; and the Cancer Research Campaign (UK) International Fellowships). Additional information and application forms may be obtained from the International Union Against Cancer, 3 Rue du Conseil-General, 1205 Geneva. Switzerland.

The Institute of Metallurgists is again organizing an International Metallography Competition to encourage the attainment of standards of excellence in the micrographic study of materials. The competition is open to members and nonmembers of the Institution alike, and this year the total prize money exceeds £1,000. For further details contact Mr B.D. Gibson, Secretary, The Institution of Metallurgists, PO Box 471, 1 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5BE, UK.

Appointments

Gerard L.E. Turner, DSc, FSA, of the Museum of the History of Science at the University of Oxford, has been elected President of the British Society for the History of Science.

Professor R.J. Elliott, FRS, Wykenham Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford, has been elected Physical Secretary of the Royal Society.

Charles H. Holland, Professor of Geology and Mineralogy at Trinity College, Dublin, has been elected President of the Geological Society, London.

Dr John C. Browne has been appointed to the newly established Chair of Astrophysics at the University of Glasgow.

Sir David Montgomery has been reappointed for a further five years as Chairman of the Forestry Commission.

Dr Michel Chrétien has been appointed Scientific Director of the Clinical Research Institute of Montreal.

Professor Dr Thomas H. Lee of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, has been appointed Director of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis.

Ms Renate Siebrasse has been appointed Manager, Operations, for Battelle Institute Limited.

Mr Alan Schriesheim has been appointed Director of the Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, USA.

Dr H.H. Atkinson, Director of Science at the Science and Engineering Research Council, UK, has been elected as the next Chairman of the Council of the European Space Agency, succeeding Professor H. Curient (France).

Professor G.S.C. Beveridge, Head of the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering at the University of Strathclyde, has been elected President of the Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Dr Roland Schmitt and Dr Charles Hess have been elected Chairman and Vice Chairman, respectively, of the National Science Board, of the National Science Foundation, USA.

Dr John R. Durrant, President of the Fox Chase Cancer Centre in Philadelphia, has been designated president-elect of the American Society of Clinical Oncology.

Jim MacNeill, Director of Environment for the OECD, has been appointed Secretary-General of the new World Commission on Environment and Development. Previously he was Commissioner General for HABITAT, the UN Conference on Human Settlements in Vancouver.

Short Courses

24-28 September, Heat Recovery Network Design, University of Manchester, (The Registrar, UMIST, PO Box 88, Manchester M60 1QD, UK).

25-28 September, Capillary Gas Chromatography Course (Dr J.D. Baty, Packard Instruments Ltd, 13-17 Church Road, Caversham, Berks RG4 7AA, UK).

20 January-1 February, 1985, Molecular and Cellular Aspects of Immunology, Rehovot, Israel (Prof. Edna Mozes, Department of Chemical Immunology, the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, 76100 Israel).