Appointments

HRH the Duke of Edinburgh has been admitted as an honorary member of the Linnean Society of London. Amongst those who already exercise honorary membership are HM the Queen Mother, HM King Carl Gustav of Sweden, and HM the Emperor Hirohito of Japan.

The following have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh: Dr R.L.P. Adams (University of Glasgow, UK); Dr W. Banks (The Hannah Research Institute, UK); Dr A.D.S. Barr (University of Dundee, UK); Dr D.J.H. Brock (University of Edinburgh, UK); Professor C.M. Brown (Heriot-Watt University, UK); Dr A.M. Campbell (University of Glasgow, UK); Professor J.H. Collins (University of Edinburgh, UK); Dr A.D.D. Craik (University of St Andrews, UK); Dr R.M. Cresswell (The Wellcome Foundation, UK); Dr G.E. Davie (University of Edinburgh, UK); Dr D.A. Ede (University of Glasgow, UK): Dr A.R. Forrester (University of Aberdeen, UK); Dr B.M.J. Gordon (Musical Director and Conductor of the Haddo House Choral and Operatic Society, UK); Dr C.A. Greated (University of Edinburgh, UK); Dr V.R.S. Hutton (University of Edinburgh, UK); Mr N. MacCaig (University of Stirling, UK); Dr R.G.L. McCrone (Scottish Economic Planning Department, UK); Professor R. McL. Mackie (University of Glasgow, UK); Professor M.C. MacNaughton (University of Glasgow, UK); Dr W.B. Martin (Moredun Research Institute, UK): Professor W.R.A. Muntz (University of Stirling, UK); Professor M. Peaker (Hannah Research Institute and the University of Glasgow, UK); Dr J.D. Pitts (Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, UK); Dr W.D.I. Rolfe (University of Glasgow, UK); Dr P. Tothill (University of Edinburgh, UK); Dr A. Truman (Heriot-Watt University, UK); Professor P.G. Walsh (University of Glasgow, UK); Dr P.C. Wilkinson (University of Glasgow, UK); Professor J.H. Williamson (Heriot-Watt University, UK); Professor N.G. Wright (University of Glasgow, UK). This extends

Correction

The new chief medical officer of the British Department of Health and Social Security will be **Professor Donald Acheson**, currently professor of epidemiology and director of the MRC Environmental Epidemiology Unit at the University of Southampton, and not Sir Henry Yellowlees, as was previously announced. Professor Acheson is to replace Sir Henry Yellowlees who has held the post since 1973. the list of fellows previously announced.

Miscellaneous

As part of the expansion of Biogen's clinical programme aimed at developing gamma interferon, Dr Seth Rudnick has joined the company as vice president of medical research for Biogen Research Corporation. Dr Rudnick, formerly director of interferon clinical research at Schering Corporation, will direct the clinical programme worldwide. Biogen is currently completing gamma interferon preclinical trials in Europe under the supervision of Dr Adrian Dawson, who will continue to supervise the clinical trials. Biogen will supply the interferon for the European trials, and also expects to provide gamma interferon on a commercial basis in the future. This contrasts with the programme that is being carried out by Biogen in Japan, for which the interferon is supplied by Shionogi and Company.

Awards

The international Cristoforo Colombo communications award was created by the city of Genoa to honour the name and the memory of Cristoforo Colombo. The prize is intended for the most distinguished contribution to the advancement of communications of either technical, scientific or social significance. For the purpose of making the award, the field of communications has been divided into seven sections: land-communications, telecommunications, communications theory, sea-communications, the technique of information diffusion, air-communications and space-communications. This year's award will go to the information diffusion section. The prize consists of a gold medal together with 5 million Italian lira. It is indivisible and may be awarded to a single person or, collectively, to a group of people.

Novo Industri have announced that the Novo Biotechnology Award for 1983 will be given to **Professor Kei Arima** for his contribution to microbiology and industrial enzymology. Kei Arima is professor emeritus of Tokyo University, president of the Society of Agricultural Chemistry of Japan and president of the Association of Industrial Fermentation of Japan.

The 1983 Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize for research into the physics of the solid state has been awarded by the European Physical Society to **Professor Isaac Silvera**. The work for which the award was made was conducted at the Natuurkundig Laboratorium of Amsterdam University and concerns research into the behaviour of hydrogen under extreme conditions.

© 1983 Nature Publishing Group

Frederick Seitz, president emeritus of the National Academy of Sciences and of the Rockefeller University, has been selected to receive the Vannevar Bush Award by the National Science Board of the USA, the policy-making body of the National Science Foundation. The Vannevar Bush Award acknowledges outstanding contributions in science and technology which have particular significance to the national welfare of the United States of America.

Applications are invited for the Biochemical Analysis prize which is awarded biennially by the German Society for Clinical Chemistry for outstanding and novel work in the field of biochemical analysis or biochemical instrumentation, or for significant contributions to the advancement of experimental biology, particularly that relating to clinical biochemistry. Applicants for the DM 10,000 prize, which is donated by Boehringer Mannheim, should submit their papers on one of the above topics (either published or accepted for publication between 1 October 1981 and 30 September 1983) before 15 November 1983 to Professor I. Trautschold, Secretary of the Biochemical Analysis prize, Medizinische Hochschule Hannover, Konstanty-Gutschow-Strasse 8, 3,000 Hannover 61, Federal Republic of Germany.

The British Medical Research Council invites applications for travelling and French exchange fellowships to be taken up in the autumn of 1984 for a period of between three months and one year. Applicants must have been resident in the UK, the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man throughout the three years preceding the application date, although one Alexander Pigott Wernher Memorial Trust fellowship in ophthalmology or otology may also be available, and open to Commonwealth candidates who wish to work in the UK. Medically or dentally qualified candidates should be of National Health Service Registrar or Senior Registrar status (or academic equivalent) with some research experience. Non-clinical scientists would be expected to hold a PhD or DPhil degree and normally to have had at least two years' postdoctoral research experience by the time they hope to take up the award. Applicants holding tenured academic appointments are not eligibile for this competition but may apply for support under the Council's project grant scheme.

Nominations are invited for the triennial international award of 500,000 rupees which is given by the Hospital Trust Endowment Scheme of the Medical Research Centre of Bombay for outstanding basic or clinical contributions to the field of oncology. Details should be sent to The Director, Rameshwardas Birla Smarak Kosh, Medical Research Centre, Hospital Avenue, Bombay 400 020, India before 31 March 1984.