## ANNOUNCEMENTS

## Awards

Ryoichi Sasakawa (Chairman of the Japan Shipbuilding Industry Foundation) has been awarded the United Nations Peace Medal.

The award of the International Organisation of Plant Breeders for the Protection of Plant Varieties, ASSINSEL, for scientists whose basic research work has made a considerable contribution to the improvement of plant breeding methods for the benefit of agriculture and horticulture has gone to Dr C.N. Law (UK) and Dr Ir. J.E. Parlevliet (Holland).

George Weber (Laboratory for Experimental Oncology, Indiana University School of Medicine) has received the 22nd G.H.A. Clowes award of the American Association for Cancer Research. Dr Weber has also recently been given an Honorary Degree by the University of Chieti, Italy.

The Linnean Society of London has made the following awards: the Linnean Medal for botany to **Prof. Peter Davis** (Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh); the Linnean Medal for zoology to **Dr Humphry Greenwood** (Natural History Museum, South Kensington); the Bicentenary Medal to **Dr Lionel Higgins** the H.H. Bloomer Award; the Trail Crisp Award to **Dr John Pettitt** (Natural History Museum, South Kensington).



Prof. Dr Charles Weissmann (Zürich University, Switzerland) has received the Dr H.P. Heineken prize by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. It consists of Df1 200,000 (£40,000) and a crystal and is (in monetary terms) the biggest scientific award in the Netherlands. It is awarded every three years for oustanding performances in biophysics, biochemistry and related sciences.

The Geological Society has made the following awards: The Wollaston Medal to Prof. P.J. Wyllie; The Lyell Medal to Prof. G.P.L. Walker; The Murchison Medal to Prof. D. Flinn; The Wollaston Fund to Dr H.C. Jenkyns; The Murchison Fund to Dr R.B. Richards; The Lyell Fund; one moiety to Dr D.G. Roberts, one moiety to be shared by Drs P.W. Francis and R.S. Thorpe; President's Awards to Dr R.J. Knipe and Dr C.H. Donaldson; The R.H. Worth Prize to Dr A.E. Mourant.

The Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine have announced the following research fellowships: Dr Judith P. Armitage (Microbiology, University College London); Dr G. Marius Clore (National Institute for Medical Research, Mill Hill); Dr Alec J. Jeffreys (Genetics University of Leicester); Dr Sai-Kit A. Law (Biochemistry, University of Oxford); Dr Stephen J. Perkins (Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, London).

**Dr Richard Axel** (Institute of Cancer Research at Columbia University) has received the NSF's seventh annual Alan T. Waterman Award for his novel method of introducing virtually any gene into mammalian cells.

The Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine has been awarded to **Prof. Hartmut Wekerle** and **Prof. Rolf M. Zinkernagel** (Institut für Pathologie der Universitat Zürich).

Biotrol, the French manufacturers of specialized control sera and colorimetric assays, are offering a prize (10,000 FF) for the best research work which could result in the introduction of new laboratory diagnostic tests. Contact: Bill Daring, Burgess, Daring Associates, Manchester, UK.

Churchill Travelling Fellowships are open to all UK citizens of any age or occupation, and since no educational or professional qualifications are needed, they are of special interest to people who would not be eligible for other types of grants. The object of the awards is to enable those who would not otherwise have a chance, to gain a better understanding of the lives and work of people in countries overseas, and to bring back useful knowledge, skill and experience for the benefit of our community. Grants are offered in different categories each year. The only requirement is that applicants have to show that they can make effective use of the opportunity both while they are abroad and when they return. To apply send your name and address only on a postcard between August and mid-October to the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, 15 Queen's Gate Terrace, London SW7, UK.

The Clarke Institute of Psychiatry Annual Research Fund Award is awarded annually to a clinical or basic scientist who has published a report or dissertation on outstanding research within the field of mental health conducted during the preceding year. The scientist must have carried out his work in Canada while resident there. Applications and nominations to G.D. Carpenter, Research Fund Committee, Clarke Institute of Psychiatry, 250 College St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1R8.

Universities, academies, educational institutions and research centres are invited to nominate candidates for the King Faisal International Prize to be awarded in the field of physics in Rabi al-Awal 1403 A.H. (January 1983). A nominee must have accomplished outstanding academic work in physics, that must have been published, for the benefit of mankind. An attached Arabic abstract is preferred if the work is published in any other language and must be original. The nominations must give full particulars of the nominee's academic background, experience and/or publications, copies of educational certificates and three 6×9 cm photographs. Nominations and 10 copies of the work are to be sent by registered airmail to the General Secretariat, King Faisal International Prize, PO Box 352, Rivadh, Saudi Arabia before 7 August 1982.

Through the Irish Foundation for Human Development, the annual Curt P. Richter Prize in Psychoneuroendocrinology has been established in recognition of meritorious research. The prize will be awarded annually for the best essay or manuscript (original research or a review including original research) submitted by a scientist or physician under 40 years of age by 1 January 1983. Manuscripts to: Dr G. Langer, Allgemeines Krankenhause der Stadt Wien, Psychiatrische Universitatsklinik, Lazarettgasse 14 A-1097 Vienna, Austria by 2 January 1983.

## Sakharov scholarship

The Sakharov International Committee Inc., a Washington-based human rights organization whose board includes 29 Nobel prize winners has launched a fund to award scholarships to qualified students "dedicated to the pursuit of Sakharov's scientific or humanistic goals" and prizes to scientists who "in addition to outstanding achievements in the fields are also deeply devoted to the cause of human liberty". The fund will also assist scientists persecuted for their advocacy of human rights. The fund is being raised by a direct appeal to individual scientists and scientific organizations. The committee's address is PO Box 9422, Washington DC 20016, USA.