## ANNOUNCEMENTS

## Awards

The National Academy of Sciences awards for 1982 include: James Murray Luck Prize to Victor A. McKusick, (The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine): Award in Chemical Sciences to Gilbert Stork (Columbia University); Award for Initiatives in Research to Kerry E. Sieh (California Institute of Technology); Public, Welfare Medal to Paul G. Rogers (formerly of the House Subcommittee on Health and the Environment); Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal to Luigi Provasoli (Yale University); Mary Clark Thompson Medal to William A. Berggren (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution); US Steel Foundation Award in Molecular Biology to Joan A. Steitz (Yale University); Selman A. Waksman Award to I.C. Gunsalus (University of Illinois); Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal to Martin F. Glaessner (University of Adelaide); G.K. Warren Prize to John T. Hack (The Geroge Washington University); James Craign Watson Medal to Stanton J. Peale (University of California).

**Dr Theodore Brewster Taylor** (Appropriate Solar Technology Institute, Inc.) is the recipient of The Boris Pregel Award for Applied Science and Technology.

Professor William Trager (Rockefeller University) has been awarded the First Rameshwardas Birla Triennial International Award in tropical medicine by the Medical Research Centre of the Bombay Hospital Trust.

Nineteen Prize Fellow selected by D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation will receive unrestricted awards of \$24,000 to \$60,000 annually for five years: Dr Hugh John Cairns (Cancer research; microbiology); Joel E. Cohen (Mathematics & demography; public health); Richard P. Critchfield (Journalism); Howard E. Gardner (Developmental psychology; clinician); John P. Gaventa (Political science; social activism); David Hawkins (Philosophy; education); John P. Holdren (Physics; energy and environment); Ada Louise Huxtable (Architecture criticism); Robert W. Kates (Geography; natural hazards research); Dr Raphael C. Lee (Surgery; biomedical engineering); Cormac McCarthy (Novels); Richard C. Mulligan (Cancer research; biochemistry); Elaine H. Pagels (History of religion); David Pingree (History of science); Paul G. Richards (Theoretical seismology); Richard M. Rorty (Philosophy); Joseph H. Taylor (Radio astronomy; astrophysics); Michael Woodford (Economics; legal theory); George Zweig (Physics; neurobiology). In addition Barbara McClintock, 79, a geneticist, has been selected as the Foundation's first Prize Fellow Laureate — assuring her of \$60,000 annually.

**Dr Nien-Chu C. Yang** (University of Chicago) is the recipient of The Gregory and Freda Halpern Award in Photochemistry sponsored by the Polychrome Corporation.

The Institute of Physics Award for 1982 are: Charles Vernon Boys Prize to Dr B.J. Isherwood (GEC Hirst Research Centre); Duddell Medal and Prize to S. van der Meer (CERN); Glazebrook Medal and Prize to Professor J.M.A. Lenihan (West of Scotland Health Boards); Guthrie Medal and Prize to Sir Charles Frank (University of Bristol); Maxwell Medal and Prize to Dr J.R. Ellis (CERN); Rutherford Medal and Prize to Dr D.M. Brink (University of Oxford); Prizes for the 1981 Graduateship Examination of the Institute to D.J. Pointer and T.J. Mays (Bristol Polytechnic).

The Paul-Martini-Prize for promoting the development of scientific methods for the evaluation in the clinical pharmacological and therapeutical fields will be confered by the Paul-Martini-Foundation which is sponsored by the Medizinisch Pharmazeutische Studiengesellschaft (Mainz, FRG). Papers must be self-contained not older than two years. They should be sumbitted either in English or German with six copies to the Medizinisch Pharmazeutische Studiengesellschaft e.V., Bilhildisstraße 2, Postfach 3048, D-6500 Mainz, FRG before 30 April 1982.

An open competition in geometry for an award of \$2,500 is being sponsored by Science Software Systems, Inc. The award will be presented to the competitor who submits the most complete solution to the problem: What geometrical properties of dissimilar inversion loci are consequences of the property of self-inversion of a basis curve at angles other than 0° or 180°? For further information send a stamped self-addressed envelope to Science Software Systems, Inc., 11899 W. Pico Boulevard, Los Angeles, California 90064, USA.

The Trustees of the Lady Tata Memorial Trust invite applications for Awards for personal support for research on leukaemia, in the Academic Year beginning 1 October 1982. Candidates with programmes of research on any aspect of malignant disease which may throw light on problems of leukaemia will be eligible for consideration. Awards are open to suitably qualified investigators of any nationality, working either in their own institutions or in other centres abroad. Further particulars from the Secretary of the (European) Scientific Advisory Committee, Lady Tata Memorial Trust, MRC Leukaemia Unit, Royal Postgraduate Medical School, Du Cane Road, London W12, UK.

The Eli Lilly Fellowship in diabetes in children has been established by the British Diabetic Association. It will be funded by Eli Lilly & Company. This fellowship will be for a doctor of registrar status and will last for two years. The research into diabetes in children will be carried out at the hospital of the successful candidate. Application forms from the assistant secretary, British Diabetic Association, 10 Queen Anne Street, London W1, UK.

The L.S.B. Leakey Trust is now able to award research grants to scholars in the fields of human palaeontology, archaeology and primate behaviour. Contact: Miss Anne Turner, The L.S.B. Leakey Trust, 10 St George's Mansions, Vauxhall Bridge Road, London SW1, UK.

## **Appointments**

Mr J.W. Bundy (Agricultural General Manager of Birds Eye Foods Limited) has been elected by the Council of the National Institute of Agricultural Botany to be their Chairman for 1982–83.

Professor C.S. Holling (University of British Columbia in Vancouver) will be the new director of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis in Laxenburg near Vienna, Austria.

## **Meetings**

- 1-4 March, Mobility and Function in Proteins and Nucleic Acids, London (The Ciba Foundation, 41 Portland Place, London W1, UK).
- 4 March, Developments in Lowtemperature Biochemistry and Biology, London (The Royal Society, 6 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1, UK).
- 15-17 March, Energy and Feedstocks for the European Chemical Industry, Belgium (Society of Chemical Industry, 14-15 Belgrave Square, London SW1, UK).
- 15-23 March, Introduction of Utramicrotomy, Seefelder (Reichert-Jung UK, 820 Yeovil Rd, Slough, UK).
- 18 March, The "Simple Surface", London (Conference Secretary, IEETE, 2 Savoy Hill, London WC2, UK).
- 19, March, Wind and its Effects on Man, Plants and Animals, Edinburgh (The Royal Society of Edinburgh, 29 Queen St, Edinburgh, UK).
- 22 March, European Symposium on the CANDU Reactor, London (Scientific and Technical Studies, Norwich House, Norwich St, London EC4, UK.
- 24 March, Concrete for Durability, London (The Concrete Society, Terminal House, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1, UK).