obituary

Grigorii Sergeevich Pod"yapol'skii, the Soviet geophysicist and human rights campaigner, died on March 8, 1976.

Pod"yapol'skii was born on October 22, 1926, in Tashkent. In 1949, he graduated from the Moscow Petroleum Institute, and from then until 1953 he worked as a geophysical engineer, doing field work in various regions of the Soviet Union (Ukraine, Siberia, Central Asia, the Arctic). In 1953, he began research work at the Institute of Earth Physics.

During the next seventeen years Pod"yapol'skii was mainly concerned with the theory of earthquakes (in particular the statistics of their occurrence and the propagation of shockwaves). In 1969, he spoke at the International Conference on Tsunamis, in Honolulu on

the relationship between tsunamis and the earthquakes which trigger them.

Pod"yapol'skii's presence in Honolulu was, in retrospect, somewhat surprising. The composition of Soviet delegations to international conferences is decided more in accordance with the political rather than the academic soundness of the would-be participants. By 1969, Pod"yapol'skii was already in official disfavour as a leading member of the growing movement of dissent within the Soviet Union; he was a founder of the Initiative Group for the Defence of Civil Rights in the USSR and a close associate of Academician Andrei Sakharov. His attendance at the Honolulu conference can only be explained, it would appear, by a desire on the part of the Soviet authorities to

make a good showing in the international arena, and as an implicit acknowledgement of the high value they placed on his work. This value, however, they would not acknowledge at home. In the same year, 1969, Pod''yapol'skii was prevented from defending his thesis, and the following year he was dismissed from the Institute on the pretext of "staff cuts", so that his scientific career was effectively brought to a halt.

According to his fellow dissidents, Pod"yapol'skii was a man of great personal charm, and skilled in reconciling the incipient disputes inevitable among those eager to exercise freedom of speech and opinion. He was also a poet; his work reflecting his scientific and humanitarian interests.

announcements

Appointments

Dr K. G. Binmore to the Chair of Mathematics at the London School of Economics.

Professor Gabriele Veneziano to the Amos De-Shalit Chair in Theoretical Physics at the Weizman Institute.

Professor **Gerald Holton** as the Mallincrodt Professor of Physics and Professor of the History of Science at Harvard University.

Dr J. D. Hodge to the Chair of Botany at Royal Holloway College.

Awards

The **Lenin Prizes** for 1976 were awarded as follows:

to Agasi N. Charakhch'yan, Galina A. Bazilevskaya, Yurii I. Stozhkov, and Taisiya N. Charakhch'yan for work on cosmic ray bursts from the Sun and the solar modulation of galactic cosmic rays;

to Nikolai N. Krasovskii, Aleksandr B. Kurzhanskii, Yurii S. Osipov, and Andrei I. Subbotin for work on the mathematical theory of control systems; to Nikolai N. Semenov for work on the kinetics of complex chemical reactions; to Vladimir S. Sobolev, Nikolai L. Dobrentsov, Vladimir V. Reverdatto, and Vladimir V. Khlestov for work on geological metamorphism;

to Aleksandr S. Spirin, Georgii P. Georgiev, Ol'ga P. Samarina, Murat A. Aitkhozhin, Nadezhda V. Belitsina, and Lev P. Ovchinnikov for the discovery

and study of informosomes;

to Sergei V. Anichkov and Vasilii V. Zakusov for work on the effect on synapses of physiologically active substances:

to Vladimir I. Burakovskii, Leonid A. Bokeriya, and Vitalii A. Bukharin for work on hyperbaric oxygenation in heart surgery;

to Feliks G. Arzhanov, Valeri I. Graifer, Valentin V. Karibskii, Aleksandr V. Sinel'nik, Tevgat S. Gainutdinov, and Valentin D. Shashin (Minister of the Petroleum Industry) for work on the automation of petroleum production;

and to Vasilii T. Babenko, Anatolii I. Manokhin, Tamerlan S. Shishkhanov, Nikolai P. Lyazhishev, Nikolai P. Slotvinskii-Sidak, and Aleksandr N. Morozov for a new method of producing vanadium.

The National Academy of Engineering Founders Award to Professor Mason Benedict for work on nuclear energy. The NAE Vladimir K. Zworykin Award to Dr C. K. N. Patel for contributions to laser technology.

The Marconi International Fellowship to Dr H. Inose for work on computers. The Royal Society has elected Professor S. Benzer, Professor W. H. Munk, Professor R. W. Sperry and Professor C. H. Townes Foreign Members of the Society.

The Rank Prize for Nutrition to Norman W. Pirie for work on the extraction of protein food from herbage.

The Charles Frederick Chandler Medal to Professor Kai Seigbahn for developing ESCA.

International meetings

May 18-21, Drug Receptor and Drug-Enzyme Interactions, Namur, Belgium (Services des Relations Publiques, Facultés Notre-Dame de la Paix, 61, rue de Bruxelles, B-5000 Namur, Belgium).

May 20, Onchocerciasis, London (Betty Harrison, Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, Manson House, 26 Portland Place, London W1N 4EY). May 27–28, Oncogenic Transformation, Lake Placid (Course Secretary, W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center, Old Barn Road, Lake Placid, New York 12946).

July 5-7, Theoretical Methods in Polymer Physics, Leeds (Meetings Officer, Institute of Physics, 47 Belgrave Square, London SW1X 8QX, UK). July 6-8, Breeding Endangered Species in Captivity, London Zoo (Dr Michael Brambell, The Zoological Society of London, Regents Park, London NW1 4RY, UK).

July 8-9, Nutrition and Growth, Cambridge (Dr J. D. Sutton, Hon. Programmes Secretary, National Institute for Research in Dairying, Shinfield, Reading RG2 9AT, UK).

July 12–16, **Properties of Liquid Metals**, Bristol (Meeting Officer, The Institute of Physics, 47 Belgrave Square, London