## obituary

Ben Dawes died at the age of 73 at his Burnley home on 3 March. He was formerly Professor of Parasitology at the University of London King's College, where he gave forty-two years of devoted service to the training of students and to research.

His first scientific appointment, after a hard-won start from being a weaver and then a tram cleaner, was to the Plymouth Marine Biological Station. Here he undertook research on plaice growth in relation to the availability of food, and his published papers on this continue to be standard references in fish feeding studies. In his early days at King's College he taught a wide spectrum of zoological subjects and in particular developed physiology and parasitology as final year undergraduate courses. His drive and enthusiasm were in no small measure responsible for establishing King's College as a centre of excellence in parasitology. His many students in this branch of study will remember his stimulating lectures and his well organised practicals, with an array of excellently prepared material from all parts of the world. Perhaps, too, his postgraduate students will have cause to recall his insistence on accurate compilation of data, on precision in presenting and writing up results and also his considerable disdain for the use of scientific jargon.

Professor Dawes was recognised internationally for his investigations into many aspects of the biology and physiology of the sheep liver fluke, and of particular significance were his studies into the penetration of host tissues, migratory routes, feeding, growth and drug effects on the immature stages in mammals and in snails. All this work was carried out with infinite patience, dedication and meticulous care: he drove himself very hard. His world-wide status as a helminthologist was enhanced with the publication of his book on 'The Trematoda', first published in 1946,

reprinted in 1956, before being updated and re-issued in 1968. It still continues to stand the test of time as does his Ray Society Monograph on the trematodes of fishes. On assuming the editorship of the 'Advances in Parasitology' series in 1963, Professor Dawes was insistent that it should reflect the progress in all areas of parasitology and the contents of the large number of volumes he edited demonstrate this resolve. He applied the same zeal, thoroughness and editorial criteria to each paper, irrespective of its specialisation, as he had to the work of his students, and always the advice and the criticism were intended to be helpful, a feature generally recognised by students and experienced workers alike. The 'cause' of parasitology was always near to his heart-a cause in which he lectured all over the world and in which he responded willingly to global requests for guidance and assistance. His demise leaves a gap in the ranks of world parasitologists.

## announcements

## **Appointments**

**Dr Peter Ayscough** has been awarded a personal professorship in Physical Chemistry at Leeds University.

**Professor George F. Mitchell** has been elected President of the Royal Irish Academy.

The Royal Society has elected the following as fellows: Professor Geoffrey Allen, Mr Sydney P. Smith, Professor Peter F. Baker, Dr Peter M. Biggs, Professor James Whyte Black, Professor Roger J. Blin-Stoyle, Professor Daniel J. Bradley, Professor John I. G. Professor Cadogan. William Chaloner, Professor H. Charnock, Professor Patricia H. Clarke, Professor Geoffrey Eglinton, Professor Roger J. Elliott, Dr Lloyd T. Evans, Professor Albrecht Fröhlich, Professor Frank W. E. Gibson, Dr Leonard G. Goodwin, Professor Edward G. Gray, Sir Ludwig Guttmann, Dr John M. Hammersley, Sir William MacGregor Henderson, Dr Robin Holliday, Dr John H. Horlock, Dr George B. Mackaness, Dr Dan P. McKenzie, Professor John F. Nye, Dr Thomas G.

Pickavance, Professor Hubert Rees, Professor Joseph M. Ritchie, Mr Stephen J. Robinson, Professor Howard H. Rosenbrock, Dr John D. Smith, Professor Stanley D. Smith, Professor Francis G. A. Stone, Dr Brian A. Thrush, Sir Frederick E. Warner, Mr William Watt, Dr Michael J. Whelan, Dr Elsie M. Widdowson, Professor Ronald K. S. Wood.

## Awards

Dr E. F. Hartree of the ARC Unit of Reproductive Physiology and Biochemistry, Cambridge, has been awarded the CIBA Medal and Prize for 1975.

The Zoological Society of London has awarded The Scientific Medal for 1975 to Dr W. D. Hamilton, Imperial College of Science and Technology for his work on evolutionary biology and to Dr S. H. P. Maddrell, University of Cambridge, for his work on secretory mechanisms in insects.

Professor Arthur Kornberg of the Department of Biochemistry, Stanford

University School of Medicine, has been chosen as the 1976 Jubilee Lecturer and recipient of the Jubilee Award of the Biochemical Society. Professor Kornberg has devoted much of his career to the study of enzymes involved in the replication of DNA. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1959.

The William Hopkins Prize of the Cambridge Philosophical Society has been awarded to **Dr S. W. Hawking** for his work on general relativity.

The Max Born Medal and Prize for 1976 has been awarded to Hermann Haken, Professor of Theoretical Physics of the University of Stuttgart for his work on the theory of lasers and also excited states in solids.

Academician Ya B. Zeldovich of the Space Research Institute Moscow has been awarded an Honorary D.Sc. by Sussex University. Amongst other topics, Dr Zeldovich has worked on Conserved Vector Currents, Relativistic Astrophysics, Shock Waves, High Temperature Hydrodynamics and Ultra-Cold Neutrons.