Dr W. Stanley Brown, Bell Laboratories, Arthur W. Elias, 3i Company/Information Interscience Incorporated, F. G. Kilgour, Ohio College Library Center, Mrs M. S. Morris, Allied Chemical Corporation, and Dr Harrison Shull, Indiana University, have been appointed to the Chemical Abstracts Service Advisory Board, and John Griffith, IBM Corporation, has been reappointed.

Miscellaneous

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation research fellowships have been awarded to the following young scientists: B. R. Barrett. University of Arizona (physics); J. E. Gunn, California Institute of Technology (astrophysics); Hans C. Andersen, Stanford University (chemistry); C. Denson Hill. Stanford University (mathematics): A. M. Nur, Stanford University (geophysics); V. Petrosian, Stanford University (astrophysics); A. Kas, University of California, Berkeley (mathematics); T. Lam, University of California, Berkeley (mathematics); R. McKenzie, University of California, Berkeley (mathematics); H. F. Schaefer, University of California, Berkeley (chemistry); J. I. Silk, University of California, Berkeley (astrophysics); G. N. LaMar, University of California, Davis (chemistry); V. L. Trimble, University of California, Irvine (astrophysics); D. A. Evans, University of California, Los Angeles (chemistry); S. J. Putterman, University of California, Los Angeles (physics); D. S. Sigman, University of California, Los Angeles (biochemistry); R. L. Vold, University of California, San Diego (chemistry); J. C. Wheeler, University of California, San Diego (chemistry); M. Shub, University of California, Santa Cruz (mathematics); L. L. Miller, Colorado State University (chemistry); W. C. Lineberger, University of Colorado (chemistry); J. E. Faller, Wesleyan University, Middletown (astrophysics); L. Corwin, Yale University (mathe-

matics); R. P. Geroch, University of Chicago (mathematical physics); D. Chandler. University of Illinois (chemistry); S. Chang, University of Illinois (physics); R. P. Kaufman, University of Illinois (mathematics); W. O. McClure, University of Illinois (neurochemistry); J. T. Yardley, University of Illinois (chemistry); A. Weitsman, Purdue University (mathematics); D. N. Coucouvanis, University of Iowa (chemistry); W. C. Stwalley, University of Iowa (chemistry); D. C. Polahd, Johns Hopkins University (chemistry); S. Kerpel-Fronius, University of Maryland (neurochemistry); B. M. Zuckerman, University of Maryland (radioastronomy); R. C. Clarke. Boston University (chemistry); R. A. Laursen, Boston University (bioorganic chemistry); D. I. Lieberman, Brandeis University (mathematics); M. Schachner, Harvard Medical School (neurobiology); G. R. Kempf, Harvard University (mathematics); J. A. Osborn, Harvard University (chemistry); J. E. Pilcher, Harvard University (physics); W. P. Reinhardt, Harvard University (chemistry); C. M. Bender, MIT (applied mathematics and theoretical physics); J. W. Negele, MIT (physics); D. A. Northeastern University Garelick. (physics); R. B. Hallock, University of Massachusetts (physics); W. C. McHarris, Michigan State University (nuclear chemistry); A. J. Ashe, University of Michigan (chemistry); B. J. Evans. University of Michigan (crystallography); M. Raban, Wayne State University (chemistry); F. P. Calaprice, Princeton University (physics); W. Carithers, Columbia University (physics); J. L. Gross, Columbia University (mathematics); R. W. Guernsey, Columbia University (physics); A. J. Chorin, New York University (applied mathematics); R. E. Zigmond, Rockefeller University (neurochemistry); D. M. Hanson, State University of New York (chemistry); S. J. Osher, State University of New York (mathematics); F. H. Shu, State

University of New York (astrophysics): S. R. Simon, State University of New York (biochemistry); G. D. Sprouse, State University of New York (physics); J. W. Kalat, Duke University (neuropsychology); P. J. Kropp, University of North Carolina (chemistry); J. F. W. Keana, University of Oregon (chemistry): T. W. Mihalisin. Temple University (physics); R. Eisenberg, Brown University (chemistry); S. Ying, Brown University (physics); F. R. Harvey, Rice University (mathematics); D. J. Kouri, University of Houston (chemistry); C. N. Davids, University of Texas (nuclear astrophysics); E. G. Adelberger, University of Washington (physics); N. H. Andersen, University of Washington (chemistry); E. Fetz, University of Washington (neurophysiology); M. H. O'Leary. University of Wisconsin (chemistry); A. O. W. Stretton, University of Wisconsin (molecular neurobiology); B. C. Eu, McGill University (chemistry); I. Ozier, University of British Columbia (physics); D. R. Arnold, University of Western Ontario (chemistry).

George Waterston, regional officer for Scotland of the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, has been awarded the Society's gold medal.

Professor A. J. P. Martin, Wellcome Foundation Limited, has been awarded Japan's Order of the Rising Sun.

Erratum

In the article entitled "Mechanism of Immunologically Specific Killing of Tumour Cells by Macrophages" by R. Evans and P. Alexander (*Nature*, **236**, 168; 1972), the reference number in line 11 should be to reference 4 in the bibliography; similarly in line 12 from the bottom of page 170, the reference number should be to reference 9 in the bibliography. Reference 8 in the bibliography should read: *Clin. Exp. Immunol.*, **6**, 1 (1970).

HOW TO BUY NATURE

Volumes start in January, March, May, July, September and November, but subscriptions may begin at any time.

The direct postal price per subscription is:

12 MONTHS* (52 issues per title)

	Surface mail UK and worldwide	U.S.A. and Canada
Nature (Friday)	£14	\$48
Nature + Nature Physical Science	£24	\$83
Nature + Nature New Biology	£24	\$83
All three editions	£29.50	\$108
Annual Index	£1	\$3

*Rates for shorter periods pro rata (minimum three months) (Charge for delivery by air mail on application)

Editorial and Publishing Offices of NATURE

MACMILLAN JOURNALS LIMITED
4 LITTLE ESSEX STREET, LONDON WC2R 3LF
Telephone Number: 01-836 6633. Telegrams: Phusis London WC2R 3LF
Telex 262024

711 NATIONAL PRESS BUILDING WASHINGTON DC 20004 Telephone Number: 202-737 2355. Telex 64280

Subscription Department
MACMILLAN JOURNALS LIMITED
BRUNEL ROAD, BASINGSTOKE, HANTS
Telephone Number: Basingstoke 29242

American display advertisements
NATURE SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS INC
711 NATIONAL PRESS BUILDING
WASHINGTON DC 20004

All other advertisements
T. G. SCOTT & SON, LIMITED
1 CLEMENT'S INN, LONDON WC2A 2ED
Telephone: 01-242 6264/01-405 4743
Telegrams: Textualist London WC2A 2ED
Registered as a newspaper at the Post Office
Copyright © Macmillan Journals Limited, May 5 1972