# **Announcements**

## University News

Dr Graham Wood has been appointed professor of corrosion science in the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology.

Professor C. A. Coulson has been appointed first professor of theoretical chemistry in the University of Oxford.

Dr D. T. Elmore has been appointed to the J. C. White chair of biochemistry in the Queen's University of Belfast, in succession to Professor A. G. Lloyd.

## **Appointments**

Professor John Nisbet, University of Aberdeen, has been appointed a member of the Social Science Research Council.

Professor F. H. Hahn, London School of Economics and Political Science, and Dr D. T. N. Williamson, Molins Machine Company Limited, have been appointed to the Council for Scientific Policy in succession to Professor H. G. Johnson and Dr G. B. R. Feilden.

#### Miscellaneous

The following have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society: Professor M. L. Barr. University of Western Ontario; Dr J. S. Bell, CERN; Dr B. J. Birch, University of Oxford; Dr D. M. Blow, MRC; Professor G. Bond, University of Glasgow: Professor G. V. R. Born, University of London; Dr S. F. Boys, University of Cambridge; Dr W. Bullerwell, Institute of Geological Sciences; Mr D. P. Burkitt, MRC; Dr V. E. Cosslett, University of Cambridge; Professor A. Dalgarno, Harvard University; Dr F. J. M. Farley, Royal Military College of Science; Dr G. Fryer, Freshwater Biological Association; Dr R. M. Gaze, MRC; Professor V. Gold, University of London; Dr J. A. B. Gray, MRC; Professor A. J. Haddow, University of Glasgow; Dr D. K. Hill, University of London: Dr J. T. Houghton, University of Oxford; Professor A. Keller, University of Bristol; Professor H. Lehmann, MRC; Sir Morien Morgan, Royal Aircraft Establishment: Professor W. D. Ollis, University of Sheffield; Dr B. P. Pal, Indian Council of Agricultural Research; Dr Mary Parke, Marine Biological Association; Professor R. Penrose, University of London; Professor G. H. Rawcliffe, University of Bristol; Professor A. E. Ringwood, Australian National University; Dr R. A. Sanger, MRC; Professor F. J. Ursell, University of Manchester; Dr R. J. P. Williams, University of Oxford; Dr C. A. J. Young, Imperial Chemical Industries Limited.

The William Bate Hardy prize of the Cambridge Philosophical Society, awarded once every three years, has been won by Dr Enid A. C. MacRobbie, Girton College, for her work on biophysical plant physiology.

The International Health Foundation will award a prize of 5,000 Swiss francs for the best study submitted on the theme "Prospects for the practical application of prostaglandins". A further award of 2,000 Swiss francs may be made for a paper submitted by an author under 35 years of age. Further information can be obtained from the International Health Foundation, 1 Place du Port, 1204 Geneva, Switzerland.

The Societas Internationalis Odonatologica, founded during the first European symposium on odonatology held in Ghent last year, will publish an international journal, Odonatologica, to perpetuate contacts between workers in the field and to promote research. The journal will contain original research papers and preliminary notes in English, French, German and Italian and will appear quarterly. Further information about the society can be obtained from the treasurer, and about the journal from the editors, Societas Internationalis Odonatologica, Institute of Genetics, University of Utrecht, Opaalweg 20, Utrecht, The Netherlands.

Dr Sheina M. Marshall, recently of the Scottish Marine Biological Association Marine Laboratory, has been awarded the Neill Prize of the Royal Society of Edinburgh for her contributions to marine biology. The Society's Keith Prize has been awarded to Dr Charles D. Waterston, Royal Scottish Museum. The following have been elected to fellowship of the Society: Dr L. W. Barr, Paisley College of Technology; Mr B. T. Bellis, Daniel Stewart's College; Professor J. G. Buchanan, Heriot-Watt University; Professor D. S. Butler, University of Strathclyde; Professor R. A. Cowley, University of Edinburgh; Professor A. E. H. Emery, University of Edinburgh; Professor D. S. Falconer, University of Edinburgh; Professor R. B. Goudie, University of Glasgow; Sir Norman Graham, Scottish Education Department; Professor F. D. Gunstone, University of St Andrews; Professor W. M. Hutchison, University of Strathclyde; Professor A. Jeffrey, University of Newcastle upon Tyne; Dr M. R. W. Johnson, University of Edinburgh; Professor M. S. Laverack, University of St Andrews; Dr S. G. G. MacDonald, University of Dundee; Professor E. M. McGirr, University of Glasgow; Professor J. R. Mallard, University of Aberdeen; Professor B. P. Marmion, University of Edinburgh; Professor J. L. Monteith, University of Nottingham; Dr J. W. Porteous, University of Aberdeen; Professor W. E. Spear,

University of Dundee; Dr P. N. R. Usherwood, University of Glasgow; Dr A. B. Wallace, University of Edinburgh; Professor A. C. Wardlaw, University of Glasgow; Professor M. B. Wilkins, University of Glasgow; Professor C. W. M. Wilson, Trinity College, Dublin; Professor P. A. H. Wyatt, University of St Andrews.

## **International Meetings**

April 12, Inaugural Meeting of the British Transplantation Society, London (Professor L. Brent, Department of Immunology, Wright-Fleming Institute, St Mary's Hospital Medical School, London W2).

April 13, Computer-assisted Analysis of Complex Synthetic Problems (Ciba Foundation Lecture), London (Personal Assistant to the Director, The Ciba Foundation, 41 Portland Place, London W1N 4BN).

April 25, Flight Deck Displays and Instrumentation for Future Civil Short-field Aircraft, London (Institution of Electronic and Radio Engineers, 8-9 Bedford Square, London WC1).

April 27, Trends in Electroanalysis, London (Society for Analytical Chemistry, 9–10 Savile Row, London W1X 1AF).

April 29, Routes to Qualification in Mathematics, London (Secretary and Registrar, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, Maitland House, Warrior Square, Southend on Sea, Essex SS1 2JY).

### Errata

In the article "A New Approach to Pattern Recognition" by N. Jardine (Nature, 234, 526; 1971), the second sentence of the third paragraph should read as follows: "It is assumed that each of a set of classes,  $\omega_1, \ldots, \omega_n = \Omega$ , has an a priori probability of occurrence  $P(\omega_i)$  and is specified by a conditional probability density function  $p(X|\omega_i)$ ,  $i=1,\ldots,n$ , over attribute states,  $x_1,\ldots,x_m=X$ ". In the third sentence of the fourth paragraph " $\omega$ " should be " $\omega_1$ ".

THE entry on the contents page for the article "Suppression of the Immune Response: Reversal of the Disease State with Antigen in Allergic Encephalomyelitis" by E. H. Eylar, J. Jackson, B. Rothenberg and S. W. Brostoff (*Nature*, 236, 74; 1972) should have read:

Immune response—Allergic encephalomyelitis reversed by antigen treatment—EYLAR, JACKSON, ROTHENBERG and BROSTOFF (Merck Institute).