to the biosynthesis of porphyrins and haems.

His contact with Professor R. S. (now Sir Ronald) Nyholm, FRS, of the Department of Chemistry, University College, led to his interest in the coordination chemistry of porphyrins and metalloporphyrins. Much of his later research was concerned with an attempt to understand the spectral and biological properties of haemoproteins in terms of their coordination and physical chemistry.

In 1955 he returned to Australia and joined CSIRO as head of the biochemistry section of the Division of Plant

Industry. He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1961 and was president of the Australian Biochemical Society from 1964-66. In 1963 he succeeded Sir Otto Frankel, FRS, as chief of the largest division of CSIRO, and one of the major agricultural research institutions in the world. He devoted much effort to building bridges between the research of his division and the worlds of the farmer. the economist and the extension worker while maintaining the scientific excellence of the institution. He played an active part in discussions on defining a government science policy and in developments in the social role of science.

Falk retained his own research interests and his book *Porphyrins and Metalloporphyrins*, published in 1964, reflects in the clarity and conciseness of its presentation his ability as a writer. He was an excellent flautist and played for many orchestra's including the Sydney Symphony Orchestra; he did much to encourage musical activities in Canberra. A distinguished scientist and outstanding orgafizer, John Falk was also a warm hearted and generous friend. He will be sadly missed.

Announcements

New Year Honours

The following honours awards were announced on January 1: Knight Bachelor, Professor F. S. Dainton, for services to science and higher education; Dr G. E. R. Deacon, director of the National Institute of Oceanography; Wylie McKissock, neurological surgeon; CBE, Professor F. K. Bannister, University of Birmingham; Eric S. Booth, Central Electricity Generating Board; Professor J. G. D. Clark, University of Cambridge; Professor A. I. Darling, University of Bristol; Professor J. L. Gowans, for services to medical science; C. Joliffe, Science Research Council; W. Marsh. Rolls-Royce, Derby; Professor J. Walker, University of Dundee; D. J. Watson. Rothamsted Experimental Station; Professor A. Wilson, University of Liverpool; OBE, R.J. Adle, British Antarctic Survey; G. S. Innes, St Bartholomew's Hospital, London: E. I. Lloyd, Ministry of Aviation Supply; Professor A. L. Roberts, University of Leeds; J. S. M. Robertson. Western Regional Hospital Board (Scotland); S. J. Robinson, Mullard Research Laboratories, Redhill.

University News

Dr Arthur F. Turner, head of the optical Physics Department, Vacuum Coating Division, Bausch and Lomb Inc., has been appointed professor of optical sciences in the University of Arizona.

Dr R. H. Ottewill has been appointed to the chair of colloid science in the School of Chemistry, University of Bristol.

Dr Sven Paulin has been appointed professor of radiology at **Harvard Univer**sity and radiologist-in-chief at the Beth Israel Hospital, Boston.

Professor P. T. Matthews has been appointed head of the Department of Physics, Imperial College, University of

London, in succession to Professor C. C. Butler, on whom the title of professor of physics has been conferred. The title of professor of chemistry has been conferred on Dr Mary R. Truter in respect of her post at University College, London.

Mr Aron Holzel has been appointed to an additional chair of child health in the University of Manchester.

Dr William Anderson has been appointed to the chair of pharmaceutical technology in the University of Strathclyde.

Appointments

Mr George W. Cherry has been appointed director of the Aeronautical Operating Systems Division in the Office of Advanced Research and Technology, NASA.

Dr Byron Riegel, director of chemical research at G. D. Searle and Company, has been elected 1971 chairman of the board of directors of the American Chemical Society in succession to Dr Milton Harris.

Professor A. L. Hodgkin, president of the Royal Society, and **Professor P. B. Hirsch**, professor of metallurgy in the University of Oxford, have been appointed members of the **Council for Scientific Policy**, in place of **Lord Blackett** and **Dr C. E. Lucas**.

Miscellaneous

Mr Charles P. Ginsburg, vice president (advanced development) for the Ampex Corporation and Professor Erwin W. Mueller, Pennsylvania State University, have each been awarded a John Scott medal and a cash award of \$2,000 for their work in videotape recording and field-ion microscopy respectively.

The 1970 MacRobert award for engineering and technology has been presented to H. R. Warman, A.N. Thomas and Dr P. E. Kent, geologists with British Petroleum, for their geological and geophysical survey work in Alaska which led to the discovery of the North Slop oilfields.

Nominations for the 1972 Roussel prize for outstanding work in the field of steroids are invited. The prize is worth \$6,000 and candidates may be of any nationality. Further information can be obtained from the secretary of the award committee, Professor J. Mathieu, Centre de Recherches, Roussel-Uclaf, 93 Romainville, France.

Applications are invited for the Perkin centenary scholarships and Perkin travel grants. The scholarships are intended to enable employees of industrial firms concerned with the manufacture or application of colouring materials to study at a university or technical college. The travel grants are available for teachers concerned with any aspect of the manufacture or applications of colouring matters to visit to gain experience in institutions other than their own. Further information and forms of application can be obtained from the secretary of the Perkin Centenary Trust, c/o The Chemical Society, Burlington House, London W1.

The New York Cancer Research Institute has established a number of fellowships for the support of qualified individuals who wish to receive training and experience in experimental or clinical cancer immunology. Applicants may be of any nationality and should hold an MD or PhD degree. The value of each fellowship will vary according to the experience and responsibility of the applicant. Further information can be obtained from Mrs W. B. Nauts, executive director, New York Cancer Research Institute Inc., 1225 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10028, USA.

ERRATUM. In the review "Derivatives of NH" by P. Sykes (*Nature*, **228**, 1233; 1970), the first sentence in the second paragraph should read "There has in the past been some confusion over the naming of nitrenes, but the use of the definition in the first paragraph . . .".