of an ideal ionospheric layer, since named after him. He has also discussed the formation of ozone, other photochemical atmospheric problems, diffusion in the atmosphere and recently (with Kendall) noctilucent clouds. Fittingly, it was he who introduced the word 'aeronomy' for the science of the upper atmosphere.

He served as president for the Royal Astronomical Society and the International Union of Geodesy and

# Announcements

## University News

Professor R. J. Kitz, chief of anaesthesia at the Massachusetts General Hospital, has been appointed Henry Isaiah Dorr professor of research and teaching in anaesthetics and anaesthesia at Harvard University, in succession to Professor Henry K. Beecher who will become Henry Isaiah Dorr professor emeritus. Mr C. Richard Taylor, of Duke University, has been appointed first director of the Concord Field Station of Harvard's Museum of Comparative Zoology.

The following appointments have been made in the University of London: Mr J. N. Britton, to the Goldsmith's chair of education tenable at the Institute of Education and attached to Goldsmiths' College; Professor B. R. Rabin, to the chair of biochemistry, Univer-sity College; Dr G. F. M. Russell, to the chair of psychiatry tenable at the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine; Mr G. N. Walton, to the chair of nuclear technology at the Imperial College of Science and Technology; Dr D. V. Bugg, to the chair of nuclear physics, Queen Mary College; Professor S. J. G. Semple, to the chair of medicine tenable at the Middlesex Hospital Medical School. The title of professor of entomology has been conferred on Dr Reginald F. Chapman, in respect of his post at Birkbeck College, that of professor of rock mechanics has been conferred on Dr Evert Hoek in respect of his post at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, and that of professor of chemistry has been conferred on Dr A. J. B. Robertson, in respect of his post at King's College. The title of Emeritus professor has been conferred on the following: Professor E. Boyland (biochemistry, Institute of Cancer Research); Professor F. Brailsford (electrical engineering, University College); Professor F. C. Champion (experimental physics, King's College); Professor F. E. Camps (forensic medicine, London Hospital Medical College); Professor G. W. Causey (anatomy, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences); Professor S. J. De Navasquez (pathology, Guy's Hospital Medical School); Professor S. E. Dicker (physiology, Chelsea College of Science and Technology); Professor F. Goldby (anatomy, St. Mary's Hospital Medical School); Professor J. Greig (electrical engineering, King's College); Professor W. J. Hamilton (anatomy, Charing Cross Hospital Medical School); Professor H. R. Hewer (zoology, Imperial College of Science and Technology); Professor A. Kekwick (medicine, Middlesex Hospital Medical School); Professor N. F. Maclagan (chemical pathology, Westminster Medical School); Professor Sir John Randall (biophysics, King's College); Professor J. W. Smith (chemistry, Bedford College); Professor R. S. Stacey (pharmacology and chemotherapeutics, St Thomas's Hospital Medical School); Professor Lord Stamp (bacteriology, Royal Postgraduate Medical School); Professor J. S. Wilkie (history and philosophy of science, University College).

Geophysics, among other organizations. He was also chosen to act as president of CSAGI, the special committee for organizing the International Geophysical Year, a venture which he strongly supported and which owed much to his efforts. Officially he retired from his Oxford chair in 1953; in practice the effect was to double his activity and extend it over the world. His quiet, friendly, committed and wise counsel will be greatly missed.

## Appointments

Dr A. F. Spilhaus has been appointed executive director of the American Geophysical Union in succession to Dr Waldo E. Smith, who has retired after 25 years of service with the organization.

**Professor George W. Beadle**, University of Chicago, and **Mr Thomas H. Coulter**, Chicago Association of Commerce and Industry, have been appointed co-chairmen for the 1970 meeting of the **American Association** for the Advancement of Science.

The first three senior appointments to the new Medicines Inspectorate have been made: Mr A. G. Fishburn is to be principal medicines inspector and Mr R. Baker and Mr W. P. Jones will be sonior medicines inspectors. Mr Fishburn was formerly with the ICI Pharmaceuticals Division, and Mr Baker and Mr Jones with Parke Davis and Cyanamid, respectively.

#### Miscellaneous

To mark **Professor H. R. Hewer's** golden jubilee and retirement from the chair of zoology at Imperial College, a dinner will be held at the college on October 1, 1970. A presentation will be made at a sherry party before the dinner. If any of Professor Hewer's friends or students have not received details of the celebration, they should contact Dr D. M. Kermack, Zoology Department, Imperial College, Prince Consort Road, London SW7.

### Sabbatical Itinerants

From the issue of September 5, entries of this kind will appear among the classified advertisements and will be charged for accordingly. Copy should be addressed to T. G. Scott and Son Limited, 1 Clement's Inn, London WC2A 2ED

Exchange: Cork (Ireland) architect taking one year postgraduate course at the University of Edinburgh wishes to exchange furnished house in Cork in own grounds of 2 acres, 3 miles from city centre and university, for house in or near Edinburgh from October 1, 1970, to June 30, 1971. Please contact G. F. McCarthy, Oldwood, Rochestown, Co. Cork, Ireland.

Wanted: Comfortable 4 bedroomed home in Oxford area from March 25, 1971, to August or September 1971, for considerate family with 4 children, ages 15–20. 5 bedroomed home available in Seattle. Please contact Professor B. S. Rabinovitch, Department of Chemistry, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington 98105, USA.