Announcements

University News

Dr Peter D. Robinson, University of York, has been appointed to the chair of mathematics at the University of Bradford.

Professor Julian M. Miller has been appointed chairman of the Department of Chemistry, **Columbia Univer**sity in succession to Professor Benjamin P. Dailey.

Professor Dexter S. Goldman, University of Wisconsin, has been appointed professor and director of the Institute for Biology, **Haifa University**.

Dr D. S. Robinson has been appointed to the newly established second chair of biochemistry in the University of Leeds.

The University of Strathclyde has been awarded a grant of £50,000 by the Nuffield Foundation for the construction of laboratories to house a research group investigating the biochemistry of reproduction.

Appointments

Mr Edward A. J. Rayner, until recently parliamentary press officer to the Conservative Party, has been appointed public affairs executive to the **British Aircraft Corporation**.

Professor C. C. Butler, at present head of the Department of Physics, Imperial College London, has been appointed director of the **Nuffield Foundation** in succession to **Mr Brian Young**.

Mr W. A. Strauss, president and chairman of the Board of the Northern Natural Gas Company, Omaha, and Dr William H. Danforth, vice chancellor for medical affairs of Washington University, St Louis, have both been appointed members of the National Advisory Heart and Lung Council of the US National Heart and Lung Institute. They will be involved in the evaluation of research and training programmes directed against cardiovascular and lung diseases.

Mr D. J. Flunder of the Dunlop Company Ltd has been appointed chairman of the council of the National Institute of Industrial Psychology in succession to Mr A. J. Nicol, deputy managing director of Joseph Lucas Ltd.

Lord Kings Norton has been reappointed chairman of the Council for National Academic Awards, and will be succeeded in April 1971 by Mr M. J. S. Clapman, deputy chairman of Imperial Chemical Industries. The following members of the council have also been appointed: Mr S. T. Broad, county education officer, Hertfordshire; Dr G. Bulmer, Liverpool Polytechnic; Sir Derman Christopherson, University of Durham; Dr D. Coatesworth, County Technical College, King's Lynn; Professor H. C. Edey, London School of Economics and Political Science; Mr B. W. Haining, Food, Drink and Tobacco Industry Training Board; Dr I. M. Macintosh, Mackintosh Component Consultants Ltd; Professor G. D. S. MacLellan, University of Leicester; Mr E. Middleton, City of Birmingham College of Commerce; Dr Kathleen Ollerenshaw, Manchester City Council; Professor M. H. Peston, Queen Mary College, London; Lord Pilkington, Pilkington Brothers Ltd; Sir Alan Richmond, Lanchester Polytechnic; Professor G. D. Rochester, University of Durham; Professor D. S. Ross, University of Strathelyde; Professor J. H. Smith, University of Southampton; Mr K. S. Toft, City of London Polytechnic; Reverend G. Tolley, Sheffield Polytechnic.

Miscellaneous

As from mid-October, the Science of Science Foundation will be known as the Science Policy Foundation.

Dr Gerhard Herzberg, National Research Council of Canada, has been invited to be the Faraday medallist and lecturer of the Chemical Society of London for 1970–71. Dr Herzberg will deliver his lecture on September 30.

Awards amounting to \$1,000 and \$800 were presented by the Division of Psychopharmacology, American Psychological Association to two groups of research workers for papers read at the recent convention of the Association. The first prize was won by Dr K. H. Brodie, Dr W. E. Bunney, Dr D. L. Murphy and Dr F. K. Goodwin of the US National Institute of Mental Health for their work on drug therapy for the severely depressed patient. Dr H. B. Cohen, J. M. Ferguson, S. Henriksen, Dr J. M. Stolk, Dr V. P. Zarcone, Dr J. D. Barchas and Dr W. C. Dement were awarded the second prize for their investigation of the role of 5-hydroxytryptamine in the sleeping pattern of cats.

Mr G. W. Crockford has been awarded the Vernon prize of the National Institute of Industrial Psychology for his research on the effects of hot conditions on workers. particularly in the steel industry. The Institute's Miles prize has been won by **Dr Eunice Belbin** for her research into industrial training techniques.

Applications are invited for visiting fellowships to the **Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, University of Colorado.** The Institute is intended to promote research and teaching in solid earth geophysics, oceanography, radio propagation, the physics of the upper and lower atmospheres, and solar terrestrial relationships, and to serve as a centre for multidisciplinary collaboration. Further information can be obtained from the Institute, University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80302,USA.

Research fellowships in forest resources, administered from the Charles Bullard Fund, are awarded annually by Harvard University. The fellowships are intended to support advanced research by men who show promise of important contributions to any aspect of forestry or forest management—scientific, economic, political, administrative or legal. Candidates will be judged primarily on the quality of their professional accomplishments and academic record. Stipends up to \$15,000 are available depending on the candidate's needs and each fellowship is for one year, not normally renewable. Further information can be obtained from the Committee on the Charles Bullard Fund for Forest Research, Littauer Center 119, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138, USA.

The British Nonwovens Manufacturers' Association (BNMA) was established on September 10 by a group of ten commercial manufacturers involved in bonding processes. The Association aims to provide a basis for cooperation between individual manufacturers and between manufacturers and government, and to consider legislative measures which may affect the industry. Dr H. A. Thomas, deputy chairman of Bonded Fibre Fabric Limited, has been elected chairman of the Association; **Mr B. H. Kaufler**, managing director of Bondina Limited will be vice-chairman and **Mr C. F. White**, divisional manager of W. & R. Balston (Industrial) Ltd, honorary treasurer. Further information can be obtained from Dr Thomas, 22 Hanover Square, London W1A 1BS.