Announcements

University News

Professor E. J. W. Barrington, University of Nottingham, will visit the University of Buenos Aires for about 4 months from August 8, 1970, as Royal Society Leverhulme visiting professor.

Dr Ralph Henstock, University of Lancaster, has been appointed professor of mathematics in the new University of Ulster.

Appointments

Dr Lionel E. Mawdesley-Thomas has been appointed director of research at the Huntingdon Research Centre. He has been director of pathology at the Centre since 1964.

Mr W. A. Biggar has been appointed a member of the Agricultural Research Council in succession to the late Mr R. H. Watherston. Mr Biggar is a member of the ARC Standing Committee on Research affecting Farm Buildings, of the Scottish Agricultural Improvement Council and of the governing bodies of the Scottish Plant Breeding Station and the Grassland Research Institute.

Miscellaneous

In the Queen's birthday honours list published on June 13, the following received awards: Life Peerage: Sir Max Rosenheim, president, Royal College of Surgeons; Knighthoods: Dr Frank Fraser Darling, vice-president, Conservation Foundation; Professor Harry Godwin, for services to ecology and botany; Professor Thomas Norman Arthur Jeffcoate, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Liverpool; Dr Francis Avery Jones, Department of Gastroenterology, Central Middlesex Hospital; Dr David Christie Martin, executive secretary, The Royal Society; Mr Norman Andrew Forster Rowntree, director, Water Resources Board; CB: Dr E. V. D. Glazier, director, Royal Radar Establishment, MinTech; Dr C. E. G. Smith, director Microbiological Research Establishment, Ministry of Defence; CMG: Professor C. T. Ingold, for services to higher education overseas; CBE: Dr L. J. Bellamy, chief scientific officer, MinTech; Dr D. W. Fry, director, Atomic Energy Establishment, Winfrith; Mr H. C. Gilson, director, Freshwater Biological Association; Professor C. L. Oakley, Brotherton professor of bacteriology, University of Leeds; Dr R. R. Race, director, MRC Blood Group Research Unit; Professor H.T. Williams, for services to agriculture and agricultural economy; OBE: Dr I. R. Bishop, leader, Royal Society and Royal Geographical Society Expedition in Brazil; Mr H. K. Bourne, principal scientific officer, Department of Education and Science; Dr S. B. Kendrick, senior principal scientific officer, Ministry of Defence; Mr G. R. Mountfort, for services to ornithology; Dr H. S. B. Montgomery, senior principal scientific officer, East Malling Research Station.

At the annual general meeting of the Nutrition Society, held on May 29, the following officers were elected: Dr G. L. S. Pawan, honorary secretary; Mr J. C. McKenzie, honorary treasurer; Dr M. E. Coates, honorary programmes secretary; Dr J. L. Clapperton, honorary Scottish secretary.

Travelling fellowships in tropical marine biology have been awarded by the Nuffield Foundation to Dr J. S. Ryland, University College of Swansea, and to Mr T. Harris, University of Exeter. Dr Ryland will visit James Cook University, North Queensland, to extend his work on the biology of Bryozoas and Mr Harris will visit the University of Singapore to continue his work in invertebrate biology.

A scholarship sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Gardeners is open to young gardeners who are undergoing or have completed training at the Royal Horticultural Society's garden at Wisley, or elsewhere, and who will have had 4 years' practical experience in horticulture by October 1, 1970. The scholarship, worth £300 a year, is tenable for 2 years. The holder must be unmarried and must be employed, at least part time, in an approved horticultural establishment, preferably abroad, during his tenure. Further information can be obtained from the Secretary, Royal Horticultural Society, Vincent Square, London SW1.

ERRATUM. In the article "RNA-dependent DNA Polymerase in Virions of Rous Sarcoma Virus" by Howard M. Temin and Satoshi Mizutani (*Nature*, **226**, 1211; 1970), the third line of paragraph 4 should read "Tris-HCl buffer at pH 8·0, containing 0·33 mM EDTA and".

International Meetings

July 20–24, Dielectric Materials, Measurements and Applications, Lancaster (The Manager, Conference Department, Institution of Electrical Engineers, Savoy Place, London WC2R OBL).

July 22-August 5, Youth Science Fortnight, London (Council for International Contact, 308 Earl's Court Road, London SW5).

August 6-7, Control of Metabolism, University Park, Pennsylvania (Agricultural Conference Coordinator, 410 J. O. Keller Conference Center, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania 16802, USA).

August 9-14, Science of Survival, Washington, DC (Dr W. A. Gortner, Secretariat, SOS/70—Third International Congress of Food Science and Technology, US Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, Maryland 20705, USA).

September 8-12, Heat and Mass Transfer in Rheologically Complex Fluids, Herceg Novi, near Dubrovnik (Dr J. R. A. Pearson, Department of Chemical Engineering, Pembroke Street, Cambridge).

September 9-11, **Paediatrics**, Prague (Secretariat, Sokolska 31, Praha 2, Czechoslovakia).

September 13-18, The Microbiology of Industry (residential course), Cardiff (Director of Extra-Mural Studies, 40 Park Place, Cardiff CF1 3BB).

September 14-15, Economics of Ammonia Production and Distribution, London (Fertilizer Society, Alembic House, 93 Albert Embankment, London SE1).

September 16-17, The Growth and Termination of Polymer Chains, Aberdeen (Dr L. Batt, Department of Chemistry, The University, Meston Walk, Old Aberdeen AB9 2UE).

September 17-18, Promotion of Plant Performance and Profitability, Bradford (R. M. Henry, School of Control Engineering, University of Bradford, Richmond Road, Bradford 7, Yorkshire).

September 18-20, The Nuffield Advanced Physics Course and its Implications for Higher Education, Birmingham (The Meetings Officer, The Institute of Physics and the Physical Society, 47 Belgrave Square, London SW1).

September 20-22, Steroids, Gonadotrophins and Reproduction, Sherbrook, Quebec (Dr S. M. Husain, Department of Biology, University of Sherbrook, Quebec, Canada).